(Incorporated with limited liability under the laws of California, United States of America)
East West Bank Hong Kong Branch
Financial Disclosure Statement
for the six months ended June 30, 2025
(Incorporated with limited liability under the laws of California, United States of America)
Hong Kong Branch
Financial Disclosure Statement for the six months ended June 30, 2025
Principal activities
EWB Hong Kong Branch ("Branch") provides a range of banking, financial and related services, including commercial banking, wealth management and transactional banking services.
Statement of Compliance
I certify that the information disclosed in this statement is prepared in compliance with the Banking (Disclosure). Rules issued by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority ("HKMA") and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is not false or misleading in any material respect.
September 29, 2025
Disclosure Statement Available to The Public
copies of the Disclosure Statement can be obtained from the reception of East West Bank, Hong Kong Branch on Suite 1108, 11/F., Two International Finance Centre, 8 Finance Street, Central, Hong Kong.
A copy of the Disclosure Statement has been lodged with the Hong Kong Monetary Authority's Public Registry and our website https://investor.eastwestbank.com/financial-informaOon/regulatory-disclosures/default.aspx for public inspection.
Financial Disclosure Statement
Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information
1. Income statement
For the six months ended
June 30, 2025 June 30, 2024 HKS000 HKS000
Interest income Interest expense Net interest income
Fees and commission income Fees and commission expenses Net fees and commission income
Gains less losses arising from trading in foreign currencies
Gains less losses arising from non-trading activities in foreign currencies Income from investments held for trading
Other operating income
Total operating income before impairment losses and provision
490,151 f250,786) 239,365
16,705
5,827
756
17,656
12Z14
225
1
16,871
14,880
(1,858) (1fi43)
TS,m7
23,288
453,289 t<6,671) M6,618
30,096
(Iricrease)/ decrease of provision of impairment losses on loans and receivables (5,901) 3,738
Net operating income
Staff and rental expenses
Other expenses
Total operating expenses Profit before taxation
27'1,765
(53,201)
(13,548)
(66,749)
201,239
273,489
206,740
Tax expense
(32,526) t33,928)
Profit after taxation
168,Z13
172,812 ;
2
EASTWEST0/NK
J u'iT h iimied I ab'Ji under rhc la es of Ca T+fonfiw Undid State r•f America
£'inanciat Disclosure Stateoteztt Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information | ||
2. Balance sheet | ||
June 30, 2025 | Deceotber 3I,2024 | |
HK$000 | HK$000 | |
ASSETS Due from Exchange Fund | 626,414 | 86,129 |
Cash and balances with banks (except for those included in az our t due from overseas offices) | 257,714 | 924,414 |
Placements with banks (except for those included in amount due from overseas offices) which have a residual contractual maturity of less than or equal to one month | 632,762 | 727,771 |
Amount due from overseas offices Trade bills | 6,0}3,920 37,676 | 3,906,802 |
Loans to customers (net of provisions) | 8,129,032 | 7,457,565 |
Government bills and notes | 1,370,121 | 1,596,570 |
Investment securities | 4,272,565 | 4,249,046 |
Fixed assets | 10,023 | 12,823 |
Other assets | 166,932 | 239,414 |
Total assets | 21,517,159 | 19,200,534 |
LIABILITIES Deposits and balances from banks (except for those included in amount due to overseas | 145,016 | 67,931 |
offices) | ||
Deposits from customers | ||
- demand deposits and current accounts | 918,352 | 1,125,385 |
- savings deposits | 3,520,296 | 4,445,617 |
- time, call and notice deposits | 11,695,094 | 9,559,507 |
16,133,742 | 15,130,509 | |
Amount due to overseas offices | 3,776/28 | 2,755,412 |
Other liabilities | 195,559 | 209,819 |
Total liabilities | 20,250,645 | 18,163,671 |
CAPITAL AND RESERVES Paid up capital Reserves | 1,097,801 | 697,376 |
Current profit | 168,713 | 339,487 |
Total capital and reserves | 1,266,514 | 1,036,863 |
Total liabilities and capital and reserves | 21,517,159 | 19.200,534 |
3
EASTWFfr BANK
men plea »irh iimiteu i-ab'ii unaer n jawsor calirr›rrñ+ uniira sues «r smeica
Financial Disclosure Statement
Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information
3. Additional balance sheet information
Loans and advances to customers
June 30, 2025 Deceazber 31, 2024
HK$000
HK$000
Gross amount of loans to customers by geographic area:
- Hong Kong
5,066,303
4,798,583
- Mainland China
2,228,584
1,695,005
- Singapore
558,613
714,812
- Cayman Islands
169,055
74,821
- British Virgin Island
117,749
116,471
- Japan
38,169
- United States
23,550
23,294
- Mauritius
100,942
- Taiwan
12,870
12,730
8,214,893
7,536,658
Trade bills
37,676
Total loans and advances to customers
8,252,569 7,536,658
Less : Impairment allowances for impaired loans and advances
- individual impairment allowances
- collective impairment allowances
8,166,708 7,457.565
The individual impairment allowances are treated as specific provisions at the EWB Head office ("EW8HO"). Moreover, additional individual impairment allowances and country risk provisions are made by the EWBHO against the exposures of the Hong Kong Branch on a monthly basis.
Impairment allowances made by the EWBHO against the exposure of the Branch as follows:
June 30, 2025 December 31, 2024
HK$000' ' HK$000
individual impairment allowances
collective impairment allowances
81,251
58,957
country risk provisions
Gross value of assets against which individual impairment allowances have been made
36,057 35,885
117,308 94,842
4
Financial Disclosure Statement Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information
-
Overdue loans and advances to customers
Gross amount of loans and advances to customers which are more than one month overdue and their expression as a percentage of its total amount of loans and advances to customers are as follows:
June 30, 2025 December 31, 2024
Hong Kong:more than 1 month but not more than 3 months
more than 3 months but not more than 6 months
more than 6 months but not more than one year
more than one year
individual impairment allowances
covered portion of overdue loans and advances
uncovered poraon of overdue loans and advances
current market value of collateral held against the covered portion of overdue loans and advances
Impaired loans and advances to customers
HKS000
0.00
0.00
0,00
0 00
0.00
HK$000
{une 30, 2025
HK$000
0A0
0.00
0A0
0.00
0.00
December 31, 2024I-fX$000'
, June 30, 2025 December 31, 2024
Gross impaired loans and advances Individual impairment allowances Net impaired loans and advances
Gross impaired loans and advances as a percentage of gross loans and advances to customers
Individual impairment allowances as a percentage of gross impaired loans and advances
HK$000
0.00%,
0.00$«
HKS000' 372,647
372,647
4.94'/» ,
0.00%
Current market value of collateral related to impaired loans and advances 297,648
ESmWFRñSNK
financial Disclosure Stateotent
Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information
(d} Rescheduled loans and advances to customers
Rescheduled loans and advances to customers excluding those which have been overdue for more than 3 months and their expression as a percentage of its total amount of loans and advances to customers are as follows:
June 30, 2025 Deceotber 31, 2024
HK$000
Rescheduled loans and advances to customers
(e} Loans and advances to customers by indusby sectorJune 30, 2025 Deceotber 31,2024
Gross amount of loans to customers forHK6000
The percentage covered by collateral
HK$000
The percentage covered by collateral
%
use in Hong Kong. | ||||
Industrial, commercial and financial | ||||
- property development | 55,000 | 89.51 | 114,687 | 86.M |
- property investment | 172,001 | 100.00 | 172,483 | 100.00 |
- financial concerns | 4,192,010 | 13.26 | 4,100,555 | 18.39 |
- stockbrokers | ||||
| 85,000 | 100.00 | 85,000 | t00.00 |
- transport and transport equipment | ||||
- recreational acbvibes | ||||
- information technology | 1,030,260 | 85.32 | 295,060 | 100.00 |
- others | 1,400,301 | 2Z00 | 1,492,895 | 16.18 |
6,934,572 | 29.55 | 6,260,680 | 26.32 | |
Individuals | ||||
- loans for the purchase of flats in the Home Ownership | ||||
Scheme, Private Sector Participation Scheme and | ||||
Tenants Purchase Scheme or their respective successor schemes - loans for the purchase of other residential properties | ||||
- credit card advances | ||||
- others | 273,030 | 95 1 | 307,803 | 92d3 |
273,030 | 95.M | 307,803 | 9143 | |
Total loans for use in Hong Kong | 7,207,602 | 32.03 | 6,568,483 | 29.42 |
Trade Financing | 70,244 | 33.22 | 5,043 | |
937,047 | 2158 | 963,132 | 30.37 |
8,214,893 | 30.M | 7,536,658 | 29.52 |
Loans for use outside Hong Kong
EAsrW£sr BLK
ed w jih l1mIie6 1lsbfiu under the tans of Cat lfomla Unhed Stat
Financial disclosure Statement Section A - Hong Kong Branch Informaoon (fj Non-bank Mainland exposuresThe analysis of non-bank Mainland exposures are identified in accordance with the Completion Instruction for the "Return of Mainland Activities" issued by the HKMA.
}une30,2025
HK8000
Central government, central government-owned entities and their subsidiaries and joint ventures ("JVs™)
Local governments, local goverrunent-owned entities and their subsidiaries and JVs
PRC nationals residing in Mainland China or other entities incorporated
On-balance sheet exposure
120,439
Off-balance sheet exposure
TOP
120,439
in Mainland China and their subsidiaries and JVs | 772,868 | 222,750 | 995,618 |
| 157,493 | 157,493 | |
6. PRC nationals residing outside Mainland China or entities incorporated | |||
outside Mainland China where the credit is granted for use in Mainland China | 514,977 | 927,976 | 1,442,953 |
7. Other counterparties where the exposures are considered by the reporting | |||
institution to be non-bank Mainland China exposures | 1,979,642 | 1,091,265 | 3,070,907 |
Total | 3,545,419 | 2,241,991 | 5,787,410 |
Total assets after provisions | 21,517,159 | ||
On-balance sheet exposures as percentage of total assets | 16.48% | ||
Dece0tber 31, 2024
II $oo0
Central government, cenaal government-owned entities and their subsidiaries and JVs
Local governments, local government-owned enaties and their subsidiaries and JVs
PRC nationals residing in Mainland China or other entities incorporated
On-balance sheet exposure
119,629
Off-balance sheet exposure
Total
119,629
in Mainland China and their subsidiaries and JVs
357,820
246,203
604,023
4. Other entities of central governments not reported in item 1 above
155,876
155,876
outside Mainland China where the credit is granted for use in Mainland China
507,850
1,029,560
1,537,410
7. Other counterparties where the exposures are considered by the reporting
institution to be non-bank Mainland China exposures
1,776,016
787,192
2,563,208
Total
2,917,191
2,062,955
4,980,146
total assets after provisions
19,200,534
Tn-balance sheet exposures as percentage of total assets
15.19%
Other entities of local governments not reported in item 2 above
PRC nationals residing outside Mainland China or entities incorporated
7
r
E1STWEST hANK
or raciJ w*th Iimib«l liabilil under The laws of CaliTnmia Uni4d Stairs of Amcri
Financial Disclosure Statement
Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information
International claims
International claims are on-balance sheet exposures of counterparties based on the location of the counterparties after taking into account the transfer of risk. For a claim guaranteed by a party situated in a country different from the counterparty, risk will be transferred to the country of the guarantor. For a claim on the branch of a bank or other financial institution, the risk will be bansferred to the country where its head office is situated. Claims on individual countries and territories or areas, after risk transfer, amounting to 10*/» or more of the international claims are as follows:
HKSmillion
Banks | Official sector | Non-bank financial inShhuñOMS | Non-financial Others | Total | |
Developed economies | 6,175 | 4,799 | 329 | 11,303 | |
- of which United States | 6,041 | 4,799 | 10,840 | ||
Offshore centres | 152 | 184 | 6,060 | 6,396 | |
- of which Cayman Islands | 12 | 4,568 | 4,580 |
private sector
HK$million
December 31, 2024
Banks | Official Sector N'' | bank financial iflStiW tiofls | Non-financial Others | Total | ||
Developed economies | 4,321 | 5,030 | 261 | 9,612 | ||
- of which United States | 3,907 | 5,030 | 8,937 | |||
Offshore centres | 115 | 5,296 | 5,593 | |||
- of which Cayman Islands | 4,272 | 4,284 | ||||
Developing Asia and Pacific | 859 | 958 | 1,822 | |||
- of which Mainland China | 859 | 5 | 958 | 1,822 |
private sector
8
fiASTWEST BANK
Financial Disclosure Statement | ||
Section A - Hong Kong Branch Information | ||
5. Off-balance sheet exposures and derivative transactions | ||
June 30, 2025 | December 31, 2024 | |
HKS000 | HK$000 | |
Contingent liabilities and commitments | ||
- direct credit substitutes | 220,290 | 173,751 |
- trade-related contingencies | 25,780 | |
- other commitments | 5,964,660 | 5,404,150 |
6,184,950 | 5,603,681 | |
June 30, 2025 | December 31, 2024 | |
HK$000 | HK$000 | |
Dezivafive tranrarLions - exchange rate contracts | 1,604,516 | 1,352,897 |
1,604,516 | 1,352,897 | |
The contract amounts of the above instruments indicate the volume of transactions outstanding as of the balance sheet date. They do not represent amounts at risk. The above instruments are used for position squaring or hedging purposes and there are no replacement costs reported.
6. Currency risk
Foreign currency exposures with net position (in absolute terms) constitutes 10% or more of the total net positions in all foreign currencies are disclosed.
{une 30 2025
Non-structural position | Swigg/rancr | Chinese renzrrinbi | £IS dollars | HK$rrulIion Total |
Spot assets | 1 | 2,126 | 17,411 | 19,538 |
Spot liabilities | • | (1,280) | (18,2S4) | (19,534) |
Forward purchases | - | 254 | 1,227 | 1,481 |
Forward sales Net options position | - | (1,099) | (377} | (1,476) |
Net long position
1 7 9
Net structural position - -
Deceotber 31, 2024
HX$m II on
Non-structural position | £IS dollars | Total | |
Spot assets | 15,588 | 15,588 | |
Spot liabilities | (16,411) | (16,43.1) | |
Forward purchases | 1,100 | 1,100 | |
Forward sales | (253) | (253) | |
Net options position | |||
Net long position | 24 | 24 | |
Net structural position |
