Staco Insurance PlcNSENG: STACO

Quarter 2 - financial statement for 2021

· MarketScreener
STACO INSURANCE PLC MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH 2021

FINANCIAL HIGHLIGHTS

2021

2020

Growth

N'000

N'000

%

Major statement of financial position

Total assets

2,618,291

2,935,944

(10.82)

Shareholders' funds

(7,386,030)

(7,293,308)

1.27

Major statement of comprehensive income

Gross premium

90,810

253,559

(64.19)

Net premium earned

90,272

285,431

(68.37)

Investment income

158

22,902

(99.31)

Other income

124,628

949

13,035.70

Net underwriting and claims expenses

(60,363)

(176,886)

(65.87)

(Loss)/profit before taxation

(87,722)

(228,804)

61.66

(Loss)/profit after taxation

(92,722)

(238,804)

61.17

Information per 50k ordinary share

Earnings per share (kobo)

(1)

(3)

61.17

Net assets (kobo)

0

0

(0.11)

Stock exchange quotation (kobo) at 30

September

50

50

-

Price earning ratio

(0.02)

(0.05)

-

STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION

AS AT 31 March 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

ASSETS

Note

N'000

N'000

Cash and cash equivalents

8

90,699

403,701

Financial assets

9

135,994

137,863

Trade receivables

10

42,991

40,192

Reinsurance assets

11

443,267

443,267

Other receivables and prepayments

12

10,806

11,256

Deferred acquisition cost

13

26,463

28,399

Investment in subsidiary

14

-

-

Investment properties

15

1,520,000

1,520,000

Deffered tax assets

16.1

-

-

Leased assets

17

3,150

3,150

Property ,plant and equipment

18

44,922

48,116

Statutory deposit

19

300,000

300,000

Intangible asset

Total assets

20

-

2,618,291

-

2,935,944

LIABILITIES

Insurance contract liabilities

21

3,609,219

3,633,140

Financial Liabilities

22

4,888,388

4,928,160

Trade payables

23

341,180

362,506

Other payables

24a

1,002,877

1,147,790

Deferred tax liabilities

16.1

98,050

98,050

Employee benefit liability

26

-

-

Taxation

27

64,606 59,606

Total liabilities

10,004,321 10,229,252

EQUITY

28

Issued share capital

28a

4,670,544

4,670,544

Share premium

28c

434,164

434,164

Revaluation reserve

28d

1,407,622

1,407,622

Fair value reserve

28e

-

-

Contingency reserve

28f

2,295,235

2,292,511

Retained earnings

28g

(16,193,595)

(16,098,149)

Shareholders' funds

(7,386,030) (7,293,308)

Total Liabilities and Equity

2,618,291 2,935,944

SIGNED ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS BY :

…………………………………..

……………………………………

……………………………………

Jide Omotere

Bayo Fakorede

Muhammad Sidi Aliyu

Chief Finance Officer

Ag. Managing Director

Chairman

FRC/2013/ICAN/00000002180

FRC/2013/CIIN/00000004099

FRC/2020/003/00000021442







STATEMENT OF PROFIT OR LOSS AND OTHER COMPREHENSIVE INCOME FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

Gross Premiums written

Note

29

31 31

March

2021

N'000

90,810

March 2020

N'000

253,559

Gross Premium Income

29a

99,867

343,061

Reinsurance expenses

29b

(9,595)

(57,630)

Net Premium Income

29

90,272

285,431

Fees and Commission Income

30

2,562

12,732

Net underwriting Income

92,834

298,163

Claims expense

31

(42,046)

(117,676)

Underwriting expenses

32

(18,316)

(59,210)

Net underwriting and claims expenses

(60,363)

(176,886)

Underwriting results

7

32,471

121,277

Investment income

33

158

22,902

Net realised gain/(loss) on financial assets

34

-

-

Other income

35

124,628

949

Operating and administrative expenses

36

(202,350)

(332,901)

Interest on convertible bond

37

(42,629)

(41,030)

Impairment loss on trade receivables

38

-

-

Profit / (Loss) before taxation

(87,722)

(228,804)

Taxation

27.1

(5,000)

(10,000)

Profit / (Loss) for the year

(92,722)

(238,804)

Other comprehensive income

Net fair value gain (loss) on available for sale financial assets

28e

-

-

Foreign exchange translation gain/(loss)

28f

-

-

Gain/(Loss) on investment in subsidiary

-

-

Total comprehensive income/(loss) for the year

(92,722)

(238,804)

Profit/(Loss) attributable to:

Owner of equity

(92,722)

(238,804)

Non controlling interest

-

-

(92,722)

(238,804)

Total comprehensive income/(loss) attributable to :

Owner of equity

(92,722)

(238,804)

Non controlling interest

-

-

(92,722)

(238,804)

Earning per share(kobo)

- Actual

(1)

(3)

- Adjusted

(1)

(3)

STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN EQUITY FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

Share

Share

Revaluation

Fair value

(Available for

Contigency

Retained

Total

Capital

Premium

Reserve

sale) Reserve

Reserve

Earnings

Equity

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

Balance as at 1 January 2020

4,670,544

434,164

1,595,299

333,904

2,276,213

(12,794,408)

(3,484,283)

Total comprehensive income for the year

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Issue of share capital

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Transfer to contigency reserve

-

-

-

-

7,607

(7,607)

-

Transfer from (to) retained earning

-

-

-

-

-

(238,804)

(238,804)

Dividend

-

-

-

-

-

-

-

Revaluation surplus -

Balance as at 31 March 2020 4,670,544

Balance as at 1 January 2021 4,670,544

- - (187,677)

-

(187,677)

-

434,164

1,407,622

333,904

434,164

1,407,622

-

2,283,820 (13,040,819) (3,910,764)

2,292,511 (16,098,149) (7,293,308)

Total comprehensive income for the

year

-

-

-

- -

-

-

Issue of share capital

-

-

-

- -

-

-

Transfer to contigency reserve

-

-

-

- 2,724

(2,724)

-

Transfer from (to) retained earning

-

-

-

- -

(92,722)

(92,722)

Dividend

-

-

-

- -

-

-

Revaluation surplus

-

-

-

- -

-

-

Balance as at 31 March 2021

4,670,544 434,164 1,407,622 - 2,295,235 (16,193,595)

(7,386,030)

STACO INSURANCE PLC

STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

March

2021

2020

Cash flow from operating activities

Note

N'000

N'000

Premium received from policy holders

90,810

247,745

Reinsurance receipts in respect of claims

1,489

183,360

Reinsurance cost

(9,595)

(54,394)

Cash paid to and on behalf of employees

(102,217)

(130,868)

Other operating cash payments/receipts

(193,555)

(172,879)

Commission paid

(7,462)

(14,378)

Claims paid Tax paid

(58,427)

-

(206,742)

-

Net cash provided by operating activities

44

(278,956)

(148,156)

Cash flow from investing activities

Purchase of property,plant and equipment

18

(600)

(955)

Purchase of intangible asset

Fund placement proceed

-

5,667

-

9,775

Dividend received

-

-

Interest received

158

22,902

Proceeds from sales of assets

500

60

Net cash provided by investing activities

5,725

31,781

Cash flow from financing activities

Change in borrowings

(39,771) 0

119,746

Proceeds from issue of share capital Repayment of finance lease liabilities

-

-

-

-

Net cash used in financing activities

(39,771)

119,746

Net increase/(decrease) in cash and cash

equivalents

(313,002)

3,371

Cash and cash equivalents at the beginning of the year

403,701

205,245

Cash and cash equivalents at the end of the year

90,699

208,616

Represented by:

Cash at bank and in hand Cashbook overdrawn

8

90,699

-

90,699

208,616

-

208,616

STACO INSURANCE PLC

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

RISK MANAGEMENT FRAMEWORK (CON'TD) CAPITAL MANAGEMENT

The Group's objectives with respect to capital management are to maintain a capital base that is structured to exceed regulatory and to best utilize capital allocations

Insurance industry regulator measures the financial strength of Non-life insurers using a solvency margin model, NAICOM generally expects non-life insurer to comply with this capital adequacy requirement.

Section 24 of the Insurance Act 2003 defines Solvency Margin of a Non-life insurer as the difference between the admissible assets and liabilities and this shall not be less than 15% of net premium income (gross premium income less re-insurance premium paid) or the minimum capital base (3 billion) whichever is higher.

The test compares insurers' capital against the risk profile. The regulator indicated that the insurer should produce a minimum solvency margin of 100%. During the period, the Group consistently operated above the minimum. The regulator has the authority to request more extensive reporting and can place restrictions on the Group's operations as deemed necessary if the Group falls below this requirement.

The solvency margin for the Company as at 31 March 2021 is as follows:

ASSETS:

ADMISSIBLE

IN ADMISSIBLE

TOTAL

N'000

N'000

N'000

Cash and cash equivalents

90,699

-

90,699

Financial assets

135,994

-

135,994

Insurance receivables

42,991

42,991

Reinsurance assets

443,267

-

443,267

Other receivables

-

10,806

10,806

Deferred acquisition cost

26,463

-

26,463

Investment in subsidiary

-

-

-

Investment properties and land

1,520,000

-

1,520,000

Leased assets

3,150

3,150

Property and equipment

44,922

-

44,922

Statutory deposit

300,000

-

300,000

Intangible assets

Total assets

-

2,607,485

-

10,806

-

2,618,291

LIABILITIES

Investment contract liabilities

-

-

Insurance ccontract liabilities

3,609,219

-

3,609,219

Borrowings

4,888,388

-

4,888,388

Trade payables

341,180

-

341,180

Other payables

1,002,877

-

1,002,877

Deferred tax liabilities

-

98,050

98,050

Current income tax liabilities

64,606

-

64,606

Total liabilities

9,906,271

98,050

10,004,321

SOLVENCY MARGIN

(7,298,786)

MINIMUM REQUIRED

3,000,000

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021 RISK MANAGEMENT FRAMEWORK (CON'TD) CAPITAL MANAGEMENT

The Company further developed an internal capital adequacy model that assesses the risk of assets, policy liabilities and other exposures by applying various factors. The model calculates the capital required for each class of the broad risks identified by the Company and aggregates through co-variance methodology that considers the relationship between these risk categories.

As at period end, the Company showed a negative solvency margin of N7,298,785.76 and a solvency ratio of (243.29)%

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

7 SEGMENT INFORMATION- COMPANY

Segment Information

Following the management approach of IFRS 8, the company is organised into eight operating segments. These segments distribute their products through various forms of brokers, agencies, and direct marketing programs. Management identifies its reportable segments by product line. These segments and their respective operations for the period ended 31 March, 2021 are as follows:

Fire

General accident Motor vehicle

Oil and gas Marine Aviation Bond Engineering

General

Motor

Oil and

Fire

Accident

Vehicle

Gas

Marine

Aviation

Bond

Engineering

Total

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

Gross premium written

26,386

17,400

28,488

1

14,652

-

2,798

1,085

90,810

Gross premium income

29,052

26,788

37,274

(27)

4,514

5

749

1,512

99,867

Re-insurance expenses

(5,965)

-

-

-

(1,967)

-

(308)

(1,354)

(9,595)

Net premium income

23,087

26,788

37,274

(27)

2,547

5

440

158

90,272

Fee Income and commission

1,491

-

-

-

538

-

93

440

2,562

Investment returns

-

Net underwritting income

24,579

26,788

37,274

(27)

3,085

5

533

598

92,834

Claim expenses(Gross)

(3,260)

(4,467)

(5,105)

(44,454)

(587)

-

-

(553)

(58,427)

Insurance claims recovered /

recoverable from reinsurers

(3,366)

(8,000)

34,087

162

(9,027)

-

5,523

(3,000)

16,380

Net insurance benefits and claims

(6,625)

(12,467)

28,982

(44,292)

(9,614)

-

5,523

(3,553)

(42,046)

Underwriting expenses

(6,305)

(5,372)

(4,644)

6

(1,565)

-

(129)

(306)

(18,316)

Total expenses

(12,931)

(17,839)

24,338

(44,286)

(11,179)

-

5,393

(3,859)

(60,363)

Reportable segment profit

11,648 8,949 61,613

(44,314)

(8,094)

5

5,926

(3,261)

32,471

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

SEGMENT INFORMATION CONT'D- COMPANY

The segment information provided by Management for the reporting segments for the year ended 31 March, 2020

General

Motor

Oil and

Fire Accident

Vehicle

Gas

Marine

Aviation

Bond

Engineering

Total

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

Gross premium written

60,851 40,879

92,708 5,630 33,458 1,492

8,075

10,466 253,559

Gross premium income

89,214

42,358

154,303

25,731

12,542

1,499

1,850

15,564

343,061

Re-insurance expenses

(24,282)

-

(6,902)

(17,820)

(6,149)

-

(618)

(1,103)

(56,875)

Net premium income

64,932

42,358

147,401

7,911

6,393

1,499

1,232

14,462

286,186

Fee Income and commission

5,234

-

1,155

4,261

1,562

-

177

343

12,732

Investment returns

-

-

- -

- -

-

-

-

Net underwritting income

70,166 42,358

148,556 12,171 7,955 1,499

1,409

14,804 298,918

Claim expenses(Gross)

(5,579)

(11,983)

(23,095)

(162,989)

(1,934)

(1,127)

-

(37)

(206,742)

Insurance claims recovered from reinsurers

(6,963)

(9,812)

2,712 170,667 (67,602)

310

-

853 90,166

Net insurance benefits and claims

(12,542)

(21,795)

(20,383)

7,679

(69,535)

(816)

-

816

(116,576)

Underwriting expenses

(15,093)

(8,757)

(19,077)

(6,076) (6,081)

(457)

(455)

(3,214)

(59,210)

Total expenses

(27,635)

(30,551)

(39,461)

1,603 (75,616)

(1,273)

(455)

(2,398)

(175,786)

Reportable segment profit

42,531

11,806

109,095 13,774 (67,662)

226

954

12,406

123,132

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

8 CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS

Cash in hand

504

48

Due from banks and other financial institutions (note 8.1)

90,195

403,653

90,699

403,701

8.1 Due from banks and other financial institutions

Balances held with banks

15,750

323,541

Placement with banks

74,445

80,112

90,195

403,653

Short-term deposits are made for varying period of one

day and three months depending on the immediate cash

requirement of the group.

For the purpose of cash flows, cash and cash equivalents

comprises include cash and bank balances (as above)

90,699

403,701

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

9

FINANCIAL ASSETS

The group financial assets are summarised below by measurement category :

Held to maturity (Note 9.1)

24,757

24,757

Loans and receivables (Note 9.2)

14,646

16,516

Available for sale financial asset (Note 9.3)

96,591

96,591

135,994

137,863

9.1

Held to maturity

Government securities

19,078

19,078

Treasury bills

5,679

5,679

24,757

24,757

Due within 12 months Due after 12 months

-24,757

-24,757

24,757

24,757

There are no impaired held to maturity investments at 31

March 2021 (2020 nil)

9.2

Loan and receivables

Staff loan

14,646

16,516

14,646

16,516

14,646

16,516

Due within 12 months

709

2,578

Due after 12 months

13,937

13,937

14,646

16,516

9.2a

Staff loan

111,836

113,705

Allowance for impairment (Note 9.2c)

(97,190)

(97,190)

14,646

16,516

For loans and receivables exceeding 12 months, the estimated fair values of the loans and receivables are the discounted amount of the estimated future cash flows expected to be received. Expected cash flows are discounted factor at current market rates to determine fair value. For loans and receivables with maturity period of below 12 months, no discounting was applied.

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

9.2b Movement on the provision for impaired loans and receivables are as follows :

Company Staff loan Total

N'000

N'000

At beginning of year

97,190

97,190

Provision for impairment

-

-

Provision no longer required

-

Amount written off during the year as uncollectible -Unused amount reversed 97,190 - 97,190

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

9.3 Available for sale investment

Listed

-

-

Unlisted

96,591

96,591

96,591

96,591

Due within 12 months

-

-

Due after 12 months

96,591

96,591

96,591

96,591

The Group investment in unquoted equity financial instrument could not be fair valued as there were no observable data for which the entity could be fair valued,the carrying amount was based on cost less impairment.

The quoted equity financial instrument are measured at market value,the cummulative gain or loss are recognised in other comprehensive income.

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

10 TRADE RECEIVABLES

Due from agents

-

-

Due from brokers

2,343,778

2,340,979

Due from Reinsurance companies

-

-

2,343,778

2,340,979

Allowance for impairment (Note 10.1)

(2,300,787)

(2,300,787)

42,991

40,192

Due within 12months

42,991

40,192

Due after 12 months

-

-

42,991

40,192

10.1 Movement on the allowance for impairment of receivables arising out of direct insurance arrangements are as follows:

N'000

At beginning of year 2,300,787

Provision for impairment -

Provision no longer required -

Amount written off during the year as uncollectible -

At end of period 2,300,787

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

11 REINSURANCE ASSETS

N'000

N'000

Prepaid reinsurance (note 11.1)

79,070

79,070

Reinsurance recoverable

133,479

133,479

Reinsurance Projection on IBNR

230,718

230,718

Prepaid M&D Deposit - Re-Insurance

-

0

443,267

443,267

Due within 12months

155,866

155,866

Due after 12 months

287,401

287,401

443,267

443,267

11.1 Movement in prepaid reinsurance At beginning of year

79,070

258,355

Additions during the year

9,595

644,232

Amortisation during the year

(9,595)

(823,516)

At end of period

79,070

79,070

There were no indicators of impairment

for re-insurance assets.Therefore

,no impairment

allowance is required in respect of these assets.The carrying amounts disclosed above is in respect of the reinsurance contracts which approximate the fair value at the reporting date.

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

12 OTHER RECEIVABLES AND

PREPAYMENTS

Accrued income (Note 12.2)

-

-

Prepayment (Note 12.2)

6,156

6,607

Other receivables (Note 12.1)

4,650

4,650

10,806

11,256

Due within 12months

10,806

11,256

Due after 12 months

-

-

10,806

11,256

12.1 Other receivables

Stock- consumables

-

-

Deposit for assets

-

-

Other sundry debtors

2,303,198

2,303,198

2,303,198

2,303,198

Allowance for impairment (Note 9.2c)

(2,298,548)

(2,298,548)

4,650

4,650

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

13 DEFERRED ACQUISITION COST

At begining of year

28,399

62,171

Additions during the year

13,754

104,246

Amortisation during the year

(15,690)

(138,018)

At end of period

26,463

28,399

Due within 12months

26,463

28,399

Due after 12 months - -

- 26,463 - 28,399

  1. INVESTMENT IN SUBSIDIARY

    1. The following table illustrates the summarized financial information of the company's investment in Staco Sierra Leone Limited

      Share of the Subsidiary's statement of financial position:

      Assets - -

      Liabilities - -

      Equity - -

      Share of Subsidiary's reserves and -

      profit or loss:

      Contingency reserve - -

      Retained earnings - -

      - -

      Carrying amount of the investment - -

    2. Appreciation/(Diminition) in investment

      Carrying amount of the investment - -

      Cost of investment - -

      Appreciation in investment - -

      This represents 60% holding in the ordinary share capital of Staco Sierra Leone Limited, a subsidiary incorporated and operating in Sierra Leone

    3. Disposal of Investment in Subsidiary

      Carrying amount of the investment - 284,451

      Fair value reserve 209,718

      74,733

      Disposal/Proceed of Investment - 279,685

      Gain/(Loss) on Disposal of Investment - 204,952

  2. INVESTMENT PROPERTIES

At 1 January 1,520,000 1,520,000

Addition during the year - -

Revaluation surplus - -

At end of period 1,520,000 1,520,000

Cost/Valuation at 31 March, 2021 is represented by:

Valuation 495,000 495,000

Cost 1,025,000 1,025,000

1,520,000 1,520,000

Investment properties are carried at fair value which are determined by independent professional valuers .The determination of fair value of the investment properties was supported by market evidence. The modalities and process utilized extensive analysis of market data and other sector specific peculiarities corroborated with available database derived from previous experience.

The investment property is a landed property held for the purpose of capital appreciation.It is a bare land located at No 13 Glover Road ,Ikoyi in Eti Osa Local Government Area of Lagos State.

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

16 DEFERRED TAX ASSETS

31

March 2021 N'000

31

December

2020

N'000

At 1 January

-

-

Charge for the period At 31 March 2021

-

-

-

-

The movement in defered income tax liabilities during the

year is as follows:

16.1 DEFERRED TAX LIABILITY

N'000

N'000

At 1 January

98,050

98,050

Charge for the period

-

-

At 31 March 2021

98,050

98,050

The movement in defered income tax liabilities during the

year is as follows:

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

17

LEASED ASSETS

Furniture

Fittings and

Motor

Cost

equipment N'000

Vehicle N'000

TOTAL N'000

At 1 January 2021 Additions Disposal

-

-

-

71,150

-

-

71,150

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

71,150

71,150

Accumulated depreciation

At 1 January 2021

-

68,000

68,000

Charge for the period Disposal

-

-

-

-

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

68,000

68,000

Carrying value

At 31 March 2021

-

3,150

3,150

At 31 December 2020

-

3,150

3,150

STACO INSURANCE PLC

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

18 PROPERTY, PLANT AND EQUIPMENT

Furniture

Land and

Plant and

Fittings and

Motor

Work in

Building

Machinery

equipment

Vehicle

Progress

TOTAL

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

N'000

Cost

At 1 January 2021

-

32,254

362,090

1,236,869

-

1,631,212

Additions

-

-

600

-

-

600

Reclassification

-

-

-

Disposal

(285)

(285)

Revaluation surplus (Note 27d) -At 31 March 2021 - 32,254 362,405 1,236,869 - 1,631,527

Accumulated depreciation

At 1 January 2021

-

21,463

338,785

1,222,849

-

1,583,097

Charge for the period

-

394

1,347

1,767

-

3,508

Disposal -At 31 March 2021 - 21,857 340,132 1,224,616 - 1,586,605

Carrying value

At 31 March 2021 - 10,397 22,273 12,253 - 44,922

At 31 December 2020 - 0 10,791 23,305 14,020 - 48,116

18

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

March 2021

31

December

2020

N'000 N'000

19 STATUTORY DEPOSIT

This represents amount deposited with Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) in accordance with section 10(3) of the Insurance Act, 2003

300,000 300,000

Due within 12 months - -

Due after 12 months 300,000 300,000

300,000 300,000

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

March 2021

31

December

2020

N'000 N'000

20 INTANGIBLE ASSET

Goodwill (Note 20.1)

-

-

Software (Note 20.2)

-

-

-

-

20.1 Intangible Asset - Goodwill

Cost

At 1 January

Addition

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

-

Amortisation

At 1 January

-

-

Amortisation

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

-

Carrying value

At 31 March 2021

-

-

20.2 Intangible Asset - Software

Cost

At 1 January

-

-

Cost capitalised

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

-

Amortisation

At 1 January

-

-

Amortisation

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

-

Carrying value

At 31 March 2021

-

-

The intangible assets of the company comprised of goodwill and computer software.The computer softwares are accounted for using the cost model of IAS 38 i.e cost less accumulated amortization and less accumulated impairment.The amortization is charged to income statement in line with the Company's policy.

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

21 INSURANCE CONTRACT LIABILITIES

General business (note 21.1)

3,609,219

3,633,140

Life business (note 21.2)

-

-

Total insurance liabilities

3,609,219

3,633,140

Due within 12 months

3,609,219

3,633,140

Due after 12 months

-

-

3,609,219

3,633,140

21.1 General business liabilities

Outstanding claims provision (note 21.1a)

2,790,641

2,804,178

Claims incurred but not reported (note 20.1b)

647,642

648,969

Provision for unearned premium (note 21.1c)

170,936

179,993

Total general business insurance contract liability

3,609,219

3,633,140

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

Outstanding claims provision - General business

21.1a

Movement in outstanding claims provision

At 1 January

2,804,178

2,605,435

Claims incurred in the current year

44,889

452,183

Claims paid during the year

(58,427)

(253,440)

At 31 March 2021

2,790,641

2,804,178

Claims incurred but not reported (IBNR) provision

21.1b

Movement in IBNR provision

At 1 January

648,969

450,563

Movement during the year

(1,327)

198,406

At 31 March 2021

647,642

648,969

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

21.1c

Unearned Premium

Unearned

Unearned

premium

Movement

premium

2021

2020

Fire

40,966

(2,666)

43,632

Engineering

3,183

(427)

3,610

Motor

65,951

(8,786)

74,737

General Accident

47,466

(9,388)

56,854

Marine

11,024

10,138

886

Bond

2,347

2,049

298

Oil and gas

-

28

(28)

Aviation

-

(5)

5

170,936

(9,057)

179,993

These provision represent the liability for short term insurance contracts for which the Group's obligations are not expired at period end,The unearned premuim provision relates to the casuality insurance contracts for which the group expect tp pay claims in excess of the related unearned premium provision.

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

21.2 Life insurance liabilities

Provision for outstanding claims

-

-

Life liability (note 20.2a)

-

-

-

-

21.2a The movement on the life funds account during the year was as follows :

At 1 January

-

-

Increase/(decrease) during the year

-

-

At 31 March 2021

-

-

22 FINANCIAL LIABILITIES

Convertible bond (Note 21.1)

4,054,741

4,012,112

Short term loan

833,647

916,047

4,888,388

4,928,160

  1. Convertible Bond

    This represents zero coupon JPY 1,200,000,000 direct, unconditional, unsubordinated and unsecured European bond with option issued on 9 November, 2007 to Daewoo Securities Europe Limited. The Bonds were issued with the option to subscribe for the ordinary Shares of the company with a yield of 4.25% per annum while the tenor of the convertible option is valid up to year 2029.

    As 1 January 4,012,112 3,861,668

    Movement during the year(Note 22.2) 42,629 150,444 At 31 March 2021 4,054,741 4,012,112

  2. Movement during the year

    Interest and default charges on the bond 42,629 150,444 Exchage gain / loss - -

    Payments during the year - -Provision no longer required - -

    42,629 150,444

  3. Short term loan 833,647 916,047

23

TRADE PAYABLES

Insurance companies

41,485

41,485

Reinsurance payables (Note 23.1)

299,695

321,021

341,180

362,506

23.1

Reinsurance payables

Reinsurance premium payable

299,695

321,021

Minimum deposit payable

-

-

299,695

321,021

24a

OTHER PAYABLES

Lease obligation

22,098

22,098

Accruals

139,144

268,099

Other creditors (note 24.1)

841,635

857,593

1,002,877

1,147,790

24.1

The breakdown of other creditors is as below:

Tax payables

-

-

Unclaimed Dividend

46,111

46,111

Other payables

795,524

811,481

841,635

857,593

The carrying amounts disclosed above approximate the fair value at the reporting date.All amount are payable within one year.

Due within 12 months

841,635

857,593

Due after 12 months

-

-

841,635

857,593

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

March 2021

31

December

2020

N'000 N'000

26 EMPLOYEE BENEFIT LIABILITY Gratuity scheme

The Group has a post emploment benefit scheme which is not funded

The movement in the defined benefit obligation over the year is as follows:

At beginning of year - -

Current service cost

Benefits paid - -

At 31 March 2021 - -

Due within 12 months - -

Due after 12 months - -

- -

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

31

March

December

2021

2020

N'000

N'000

27 TAXATION

27.1 Charge

Income

5,000

10,000

Education tax

Tax audit/Prior year under provision Technology tax

-

-

5,000

10,000

Deferred tax (note 15) - -

Charge for the period 5,000 10,000

27.2 Tax liability

The movement on tax payable account during the year is as follows:

At 1 January 59,606 49,606

Payments during the year - -Charge for the period 5,000 10,000

At 31 March 2021 64,60659,606

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

March 2021

31

December

2020

N'000

N'000

28

EQUITY

28a

Share capital

Authorised

9 billion(2012 -7 billion) ordinary shares of 5ok each

6,500,000 6,500,000

Issued and fully paid

9,341,087,609 units of ordinary shares of 50k each

4,670,544 4,670,544

At 1 January

4,670,544

4,670,544

Issued during the year

-

-

At 31 March 2021

4,670,544

4,670,544

28c

Share premium

434,164

434,164

Premium arising from the issue of shares are reported in the

share premium account.

28d

Revaluation reserve

At 1 January

1,407,622

1,407,622

Addition during the year (Note 18)

-

-

Disposal during the year

-

-

At 31 March 2021

1,407,622

1,407,622

Under current regulations, assets revaluation reserve is not available for distribution to shareholders either as dividends or bonus shares.

No provision was made for deferred capital gains tax as the property is not meant for sale in the foreseeable future.

28e Fair value reserves

At the beginning of the year - 206,827

Additions during the year - -

Appreciation on investment in Subsidiary(Note 14.2) - (206,827)

At end of the period - -

NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE PERIOD ENDED 31 MARCH, 2021

31

March 2021

31

December

2020

N'000 N'000

28f Contingency reserve

In accordance with the Insurance act, a contigency reserve is credited with the greater of 3% of total premiums or 20% of profits for general business and 1% of total premiums or 10% of profits for life business. This shall accumulate until it reaches the amount of greater of minimum paid- up capital or 50 percent of net premium.

At the beginning of the year

2,292,511

2,272,197

Transfer from profit and loss

2,724

20,314

At end of the Period

2,295,235

2,292,511

28g

Retained Earnings

General reserve consist of undistributed profits from previous years.

At the beginning of the year

(16,098,149)

(15,436,062)

Transfer from profit and loss

(92,722)

(641,773)

Transfer to contingency reserve

Revaluation of investment assets

(2,724)

-

(20,314)

-

At end of the year

(16,193,595)

(16,098,149)

Translation reserve (Note 28f(i))

-

-

(16,193,595)

(16,098,149)

Attention: This is an excerpt of the original content. To continue reading it, access the original document here.

Earlier from Staco Insurance

All Staco Insurance news releases