OMV Petrom S.A.
Consolidated report on payments to governments for the year 2025
- related to extractive activities -
Introduction
Chapter 8 of the Annex 1 of Minister of Public Finance Order 2844/2016, with all subsequent modifications and clarifications, for approval of Accounting Regulations according to International Financial Reporting Standards (hereinafter the "Regulation"), transposing Chapter 10 of the Directive 2013/34/EU of the European Parliament and of the Council, requires that large undertakings and public interest entities that are active in the extractive industry or logging of primary forests prepare and publish a report on payments to governments on an annual basis. Large undertakings and public interest entities which are under the obligation to prepare consolidated financial statements are required to prepare a consolidated report on payments to governments.
OMV Petrom S.A. (hereinafter "OMV Petrom", "Company") is, on one side, operating in the extractive industry and, on the other side, admitted for trading on Bucharest Stock Exchange (with shares). Therefore, in accordance with the above mentioned Regulation, the Company has prepared the following consolidated report (hereinafter the "Report"') on payments to governments. The Report covers the payments made by OMV Petrom S.A. and its subsidiaries performing extractive activities (Exploration & Production business segment).
The 'Basis of Preparation' section provides information to the reader about the contents of the Report. This section also includes information on the type of payment for which disclosure is required and on the manner in which OMV Petrom has interpreted the Regulation for the purpose of preparating the Report.
From a socio-economic perspective, our Company and its subsidiaries (hereinafter "OMV Petrom Group") have a larger contribution to countries in which they operate than the reportable payments under the Regulation. OMV Petrom Group companies make payments to governments also in connection with other segments of activity, not only Exploration & Production, i.e. Refining & Marketing, Gas & Power, Corporate & Other. In addition to payments to governments, OMV Petrom Group companies contribute to the economies of the countries in which they operate by providing jobs for employees and contractors, purchasing goods and materials from local suppliers and undertaking social investment activities.
Basis of preparation
Reporting entitiesUnder the requirements of the Regulation, OMV Petrom is required to prepare a consolidated report covering payments made to Governments by itself and any subsidiary included in the consolidated Group financial statements, which is active in the extractive industry. Therefore, the reporting entities in scope of this report are OMV Petrom S.A., (incorporated in Romania, with branches in Italy, United Kingdom and Georgia), OMV Petrom Energy Solutions S.R.L. (Romania), OMV Offshore Bulgaria GmbH and OMV Petrom E&P Bulgaria S.R.L. (relevant activity in Bulgaria).
Activities within the scope of the ReportPayments made by OMV Petrom Group to governments in connection with any of the following activities: exploration, prospection, discovery, development and extraction of minerals, oils and natural gas deposits or other materials ("extractive activities") are presented in this Report.
GovernmentA 'government' is defined as any national, regional or local authority of a country and includes a department, agency or entity
undertaking that is controlled by the government authority.
ProjectAccording to the Regulation, the payments are reported:
▶ on government and governmental body basis;
▶ by type of payment;
▶ on "project" basis, where possible.
For the purpose of this Report, 'project' is defined as the operational activities which are governed by a single contract, license, lease, concession or similar legal agreement, and form the basis for payment liabilities to the government. Where these agreements, as per the aforementioned definition, are substantially interconnected, they are treated for the purpose of this Report as a single project.
'Substantially interconnected' is defined as a set of operationally and geographically integrated contracts, licenses, leases or concessions or related agreements with substantially similar terms that are signed with a government, giving rise to payment liabilities. Such agreements can be governed by a single contract, joint venture, production sharing agreement or other overarching legal agreement.
There may be instances - for example, corporate income taxes - where it is not possible to attribute the payment to a single project and therefore OMV Petrom discloses the entire payments at the country level in the current Report.
Cash and Payments in KindIn accordance with the Regulation, amounts have to be reported on a cash basis, meaning that they are reported in the period in which they are paid, regardless of the period in which they are accounted for on an accruals basis.
Refunds are also reported in the period in which they are received and will either be offset against payments made in the period or be shown as negative amounts in the Report.
Payments in kind made to a government are converted to an equivalent cash value based on the most appropriate and relevant valuation method for each payment type. This can be at cost or market value and an explanation is provided in the Report to help explain the valuation method. If applicable, the related volumes would be also included in the Report.
MaterialityPayments made as a single payment or a series of related payments that fall below EUR 100,000 (RON 443,400 equivalent at the exchange rate published in the European Union Official Journal from July 19th, 2013) within a financial year are excluded from this Report.
Reporting currencyReporting currency is Romanian Leu (RON). Payments made in currencies other than RON are translated for the purposes of this Report at the average exchange rate of the reporting period.
Payment types
Production EntitlementsUnder production sharing agreements (PSA's) the host government is entitled to a share of the oil and gas produced and
these entitlements are often paid in kind.
TaxesTaxes levied on income, production or profits of companies are reported. Refunds will be netted against payments and shown accordingly. Consumption taxes, personal income taxes, social security contributions, sales taxes, taxes and contributions on electricity and on trading of commodities, property taxes are not reported under the Regulation.
RoyaltiesRoyalties are payments for the rights to extract oil and gas resources, typically at a set percentage of production value.
DividendsIn accordance with the Regulation, dividends are reported when paid to a government in lieu of production entitlements or royalties. Dividends that are paid to a government as an ordinary shareholder are not reported, as long as the dividends are paid in the same terms and conditions as to the other shareholders.
BonusesBonuses include signature, discovery and production bonuses, in each case to the extent paid in relation to the relevant activities.
FeesThese include license fees, rental fees, entry fees and other considerations for licenses and/or concessions, respectively for access to the area where extractive activities will be performed.
The Report excludes fees paid to a government for administrative services that are not specifically related to extractive activities or access to extractive resources. In addition, payments made in return for services provided by a government are also excluded.
Infrastructure ImprovementsThe Report should include payments made by OMV Petrom Group for infrastructure improvements such as the building of a road or bridge that serve the community, irrespective if OMV Petrom Group pays the amounts to non-government entities. These are reported either when the cash contribution was paid to the government or when the relevant assets are handed over to the government or made available for use by the local community. Payments that have a social investment nature, donations or sponsorships are excluded from the Report.
Payments overview
The overview table below shows the relevant payments to governments that were made by OMV Petrom Group in the year ended December 31st, 2025.
(in thousands of RON) | Taxes (on income, production or profit) | Royalties | Fees (license, rental, entry and others) | Total Payments |
Romania | 1,414,209 | 780,121 | 170,564 | 2,364,894 |
Bulgaria | - | - | 1,241 | 1,241 |
United Kingdom | 1,167 | - | - | 1,167 |
Italy | 706 | - | - | 706 |
Total | 1,416,082 | 780,121 | 171,805 | 2,368,008 |
For Georgia, no payments in scope of this Report are to be reported for the year 2025.
Out of the seven payment types that are required by the Regulation to be reported upon, OMV Petrom Group did not pay any dividends, bonuses, production entitlements or infrastructure improvements that met the Regulation definition and therefore these categories are not shown.
Payments by project, government and type of payment - related to extractive activities
(in thousands of RON) | Taxes (on income, production or profit) | Royalties | Fees (license, rental, entry and others) | Total Payments |
ROMANIA | ||||
Payments per project | ||||
Onshore production zones | 656,768 | 690,817 | 122,500 | 1,470,085 |
Offshore Joint Operations | - | - | 10,034 | 10,034 |
Offshore Black Sea | 31,788 | 89,304 | 31,627 | 152,719 |
Payments not attributable to projects1) | 725,653 | - | 6,403 | 732,056 |
Total | 1,414,209 | 780,121 | 170,564 | 2,364,894 |
Payments per Government | ||||
State Budget | 1,414,209 | 780,121 | 1,097 | 2,195,427 |
National Company of Forests - Romsilva | - | - | 82,923 | 82,923 |
National Regulatory Authority in the Mining, Petroleum and Geological Storage of Carbon Dioxide (ANRMPSG) | - | - | 51,974 | 51,974 |
Various Local City Councils | - | - | 18,563 | 18,563 |
National Authority for Electricity Regulation (ANRE) | - | - | 8,341 | 8,341 |
Offshore Operations Regulatory Authority (ACROPO) | - | - | 5,975 | 5,975 |
National Company Maritime Ports Administration S.A. | - | - | 1,162 | 1,162 |
CONPET S.A. | - | - | 529 | 529 |
Total | 1,414,209 | 780,121 | 170,564 | 2,364,894 |
BULGARIA | ||||
Payments per project | ||||
Offshore Joint Operations | - | - | 1,241 | 1,241 |
Total | - | - | 1,241 | 1,241 |
Payments per Government | ||||
Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Bulgaria | - | - | 1,241 | 1,241 |
Total | - | - | 1,241 | 1,241 |
UNITED KINGDOM | ||||
Payments per project | ||||
Offshore Joint Operations | 1,167 | - | - | 1,167 |
Total | 1,167 | - | - | 1,167 |
Payments per Government | ||||
HMRC - His Majesty's Revenues & Customs | 1,167 | - | - | 1,167 |
Total | 1,167 | - | - | 1,167 |
ITALY | ||||
Payments per project | ||||
Offshore Joint Operations 706 | - | - | 706 | |
Total | 706 | - | - | 706 |
Payments per Government | ||||
The Revenue Agency | 706 | - | - | 706 |
Total | 706 | - | - | 706 |
Total | 1,416,082 | 780,121 | 171,805 | 2,368,008 |
1) Payments not attributable to projects include mainly the amounts paid in 2025 for corporate income taxes.
Christina Verchere Chief Executive Officer President of the EB
Alina Popa
Chief Financial Officer Member of the EB
Cristian Hubati Member of the EB
Exploration and Production
Franck Neel Member of the EB Gas and Power
Radu Căprău
Member of the EB Refining and Marketing
