KPI name | Unit Measure | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | |
Energy consumption of own operations | MWh | 9.104.018 | 9.370.431 | 8.783.301 | |
Energy intensity (MWh/thousand EUR net sales) | MWh | 2,34 | 2,30 | 2,11 | |
Energy consumption by source | |||||
Renewable energy | MWh | 5.051.667 | 5.066.663 | n.a. | |
% of renewable sources in total energy consumption | % | 55,49% | 54,00% | n.a. | |
Fossil fuels | MWh | 3.454.678 | 3.749.301 | n.a. | |
% of fossil sources in total energy consumption | % | 38% | 40% | n.a. | |
Nuclear sources | MWh | 597.673 | 554.549 | n.a. | |
% of nuclear sources in total energy consumption | % | 7 % | 6 % | n.a. | |
Fuel consumption by source | |||||
Renewable fuels | MWh | 4.160.998 | 4.105.359 | 3.727.841 | |
Natural gas | MWh | 1.944.576 | 2.427.543 | 2.470.226 | |
Coal and coal products | MWh | 863.367 | 931.267 | 963.156 | |
Crude oil and petroleum products | MWh | 42.932 | 45.585 | 42.304 | |
Other fossil fuels | MWh | 222.266 | 226.531 | 208.758 | |
Consumption of purchased energy | |||||
Electricity, heat, steam and cooling (renewable sources) | MWh | 886.353 | 961.222 | n.a. | |
Electricity, heat, steam and cooling (fossil fuels) | MWh | 979.210 | 672.924 | n.a. | |
Self-generated energy (total) | MWh | 6.858.057 | 7.507.529 | 7.420.135 | |
Renewable fuels | MWh | 4.160.998 | 4.109.093 | 3.821.272 | |
Non-renewable fuels | MWh | 2.692.743 | 3.394.704 | 3.597.874 | |
Self-generated non-fuel-based renewable energy | MWh | 4.315 | 3.732 | 989 | |
MM Food & Premium Packaging division | |||||
Gross Scope 1 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 18.435 | 21.661 | n.a. | |
Percentage of Scope 1 GHG from regulated emissions trading schemes (in %) | % | 0% | 0% | n.a. | |
Gross location-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 70.649 | 82.855 | n.a. | |
Gross market-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 15.514 | 30.200 | n.a. | |
Significant Scope 3 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 430.611 | 519.039 | n.a. | |
Total GHG emissions (location-based) | tCO2e | 519.694 | 624.455 | n.a. | |
Total GHG emissions (market-based) | tCO2e | 464.560 | 571.799 | n.a. | |
MM Pharma & Healthcare Packaging division | |||||
Gross Scope 1 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 2.308 | 2.158 | n.a. | |
Percentage of Scope 1 GHG from regulated emissions trading schemes (in %) | % | 0% | 0% | n.a. | |
Gross location-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 23.021 | 16.506 | n.a. | |
Gross market-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 13.964 | 14.309 | n.a. | |
Significant Scope 3 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 124.372 | 127.031 | n.a. | |
Total GHG emissions (location-based) | tCO2e | 149.701 | 145.695 | n.a. | |
Total GHG emissions (market-based) | tCO2e | 140.644 | 143.498 | n.a. | |
MM Board & Paper division | |||||
Gross Scope 1 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 737.753 | 856.235 | 829.955 | |
Percentage of Scope 1 GHG from regulated emissions trading schemes (in %) | % | 100% | 100% | 100% | |
Gross location-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 547.724 | 460.363 | 510.420 | |
Gross market-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 59.102 | 31.663 | 539.194 | |
Significant Scope 3 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 760.270 | 837.092 | 1.413.593 | |
Total GHG emissions (location-based) | tCO2e | 2.045.747 | 2.153.690 | 2.753.968 | |
Total GHG emissions (market-based) | tCO2e | 1.557.125 | 1.724.990 | 2.782.742 | |
MM Group | |||||
Combined Scope 1 and Scope 2 (market-based) emissions | tCO2e | 847.385 | 957.024 | 1.469.752 | |
Scope 1 greenhouse gas emissions (GHG) | tCO2e | ||||
Gross Scope 1 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 758.534 | 880.116 | 853.118 | |
Percentage of Scope 1 GHG from regulated emissions trading schemes (in %) | % | 97% | 97% | 97% | |
Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | ||||
Gross location-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 641.665 | 560.155 | 597.693 | |
Gross market-based Scope 2 GHG emissions | tCO2e | 88.851 | 76.908 | 616.633 | |
Significant Scope 3 GHG emissions | tCO2e | ||||
Total gross indirect (Scope 3) GHG emissions | tCO2e | 1.315.785 | 1.491.144 | 1.448.662 | |
Purchased goods and services | tCO2e | 929.014 | 1.049.430 | n.a. | |
Fuel and energy-related activities (not included in Scope 1 or Scope 2) | tCO2e | 257.923 | 317.250 | 242.684 | |
Waste generated in operations | tCO2e | 121.431 | 117.382 | 179.038 | |
Employee commuting | tCO2e | 7.416 | 7.082 | 1.429 | |
Total GHG emissions | tCO2e | ||||
Total GHG emissions (location-based) | tCO2e | 2.715.983 | 2.931.415 | 2.899.473 | |
Total GHG emissions (market-based) | tCO2e | 2.163.170 | 2.448.168 | 2.918.413 | |
GHG emissions/net sales (location-based) | tCO2e/thousand EUR | 0,70 | 0,73 | 0,70 | |
GHG emissions/net sales (market-based) | tCO2e/thousand EUR | 0,56 | 0,61 | 0,70 | |
Net sales in thousands of EUR | Thousand EUR | 3.885.304 | 4.079.633 | 4.164.400 | |
Mayr-Melnhof Karton AG - KPI Overview
Air emissions | ||||
Sulphur oxides (SOx/SO2) | kg | 334.048 | 381.814 | n.a. |
Fine dust (particles) | kg | 107.528 | 97.186 | n.a. |
Carbon monoxide (CO) | kg | 1.017.727 | 697.001 | n.a. |
Nitrogen oxides (NOx/NO2) | kg | 1.170.508 | 1.276.112 | n.a. |
Water emissions | ||||
Chemical oxygen demand (COD) | kg | 20.173.599 | 17.412.378 | n.a. |
Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) | kg | 1.229.757 | 1.238.759 | n.a. |
Total suspended solids (TSS) | kg | 1.688.626 | 2.490.758 | n.a. |
Nitrogen | kg | 276.849 | 279.374 | n.a. |
Phosphorus | kg | 28.670 | 29.462 | n.a. |
Water withdrawal | m3 | 68.053.749 | 68.714.620 | 72.876.704 |
Water discharge | m3 | 63.094.117 | 63.851.802 | 68.736.352 |
Water consumption | m3 | 4.959.632 | 4.862.818 | 4.140.352 |
Total water consumption in water-prone areas including areas with high water stress | m3 | 29.888 | 36.951 | 34.967 |
Total amount of water recycled and reused | m3 | 10.056.005 | 5.911.554 | 7.698.884 |
Water intensity ratio | m3/thousands EUR | 17,52 | 16,84 | 17,50 |
Water withdrawal by source | ||||
Surface water | m3 | 60.166.560 | 60.445.820 | 55.812.289 |
Groundwater | m3 | 6.759.389 | 6.763.632 | 6.000.553 |
Seawater | m3 | 523.309 | 811.300 | 1.597.050 |
Water from third parties | m3 | 604.491 | 693.869 | 9.466.812 |
Resource inflows | ||||
Total weight of inflows (products and technical and biological materials used) | t | 3.583.496 | 3.779.346 | n.a |
Percentage of biological materials from sustainable sources | % | 85 % | 85 % | n.a |
Secondary reused or recycled materials | t | 1.251.819 | 1.348.239 | n.a |
Percentage of secondary reused or recycled materials | % | 35 % | 36 % | n.a |
Resource outflows | ||||
Total weight of recyclable products | t | 2.870.070 | 3.039.470 | n.a |
Percentage of recyclable products | % | 100 % | 100 % | n.a |
Waste | ||||
Total amount of waste | t | 420.839 | 435.423 | 431.282 |
Non-recycled waste | t | 159.365 | 166.747 | 126.040 |
Percentage of non-recycled waste | % | 38% | 38% | 29% |
Total amount of hazardous waste | t | 3.905 | 3.937 | 5.592 |
Total amount of radioactive waste | t | 0,0201 | 0,045 | n.a |
Waste treatment | ||||
Non-hazardous waste reused | t | 1.268 | 1.313 | n.a |
Non-hazardous waste recycled | t | 260.464 | 266.470 | n.a |
Non-hazardous waste recovered | t | 71.678 | 83.080 | n.a |
Non-hazardous waste (total) | t | 333.410 | 350.863 | 303.032 |
Incineration of non-hazardous waste with energy recovery | t | 61.320 | 62.868 | 115.979 |
Incineration of non-hazardous waste without energy recovery | t | 1.298 | 1.387 | 1.752 |
Landfilling of non-hazardous waste | t | 20.906 | 16.367 | 27.449 |
Hazardous waste reused | t | 0 | 0,26 | n.a |
Hazardous waste recycled | t | 1.010 | 1.502 | n.a |
Hazardous waste recovered | t | 734 | 628 | n.a |
Hazardous waste (total) | t | 1.744 | 2.130 | 2.210 |
Incineration of hazardous waste with energy recovery | t | 1.301 | 1.133 | 1.368 |
Incineration of hazardous waste without energy recovery | t | 731 | 309 | 294 |
Landfilling of hazardous waste | t | 128 | 366 | 630 |
Number of employees (total) | FTE | 13.347 | 14.710 | 14.209 |
thereof female | FTE | 3.440 | 3.637 | 3.335 |
thereof male | FTE | 9.907 | 11.073 | 10.874 |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of permanent employees (total) | FTE | 12.649 | 13.887 | 13.511 |
thereof female | FTE | 3.177 | 3.342 | 3.042 |
thereof male | FTE | 9.472 | 10.545 | 10.470 |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of temporary employees (total) | FTE | 699 | 823 | 698 |
thereof female | FTE | 263 | 295 | 293 |
thereof male | FTE | 435 | 528 | 405 |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of non-guaranteed hours employees (total) | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
thereof female | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
thereof male | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of full-time employees (total) | FTE | 13.033 | 14.315 | 13.902 |
thereof female | FTE | 3.199 | 3.327 | 3.089 |
thereof male | FTE | 9.834 | 10.988 | 10.812 |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of part-time employees (total) | FTE | 314 | 395 | 308 |
thereof female | FTE | 241 | 310 | 245 |
thereof male | FTE | 74 | 85 | 62 |
thereof other | FTE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
thereof not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Number of employees in management positions by gender | FTE | 1.299 | 1.397 | 1.181 |
male | FTE | 980 | 1.022 | 893 |
female | FTE | 319 | 375 | 287 |
other | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Gender ratio in management positions (%) | ||||
male | % | 75 % | 73 % | 76 % |
female | % | 25 % | 27 % | 24 % |
other | % | 0 % | 0 % | n.a. |
not reported | % | 0 % | 0 % | n.a. |
Number of employees in TOP management positions by gender | FTE | 121 | 137 | n.a. |
male | FTE | 104 | 120 | n.a. |
female | FTE | 17 | 17 | n.a. |
other | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
not reported | FTE | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Gender ratio in TOP management positions (%) | n.a. | |||
male | % | 86 % | 88 % | n.a. |
female | % | 14 % | 12 % | n.a. |
other | % | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
not reported | % | 0 | 0 | n.a. |
Distribution by age | ||||
under 30 | FTE | 1.688 | 2.001 | 1.985 |
between 30 and 50 | FTE | 7.086 | 7.891 | 7.420 |
over 50 | FTE | 4.573 | 4.818 | 4.863 |
Percentage of employees receiving less than the applicable benchmark for fair pay | % | 0% | 0% | 0% |
Employees with disabilities | % | 2,2% | 2,4% | 2,2% |
male (%) | % | 1,7% | 1,8% | 1,7% |
female (%) | % | 0,5% | 0,6% | 0,6% |
other (%) | % | 0,0% | 0,0% | 0,0% |
not reported (%) | % | 0,0% | 0,0% | 0,0% |
KPI name | Unit Measure | 2025 | 2024 | 2023 | ||
Total training hours | hours | 301.627 | 402.781 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee | hours | 22 | 27 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - male | hours | 23 | 28 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - female | hours | 20 | 22 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - other | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - not reported | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
Site-specific plant training | hours | 242.507 | 342.012 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee | hours | 18 | 23 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - male | hours | 19 | 24 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - female | hours | 16 | 16 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - other | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - not reported | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
Group-wide training courses of the MM-Academy | hours | 59.120 | 60.769 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee | hours | 4 | 4 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - male | hours | 4 | 4 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - female | hours | 5 | 5 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - other | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
thereof average number of hours per employee - not reported | hours | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
Group-wide training portfolio of the MM-Academy | number | 416 | 437 | n.a. | ||
Participants in MM-Academy training courses (headcount) | headcount | 8.710 | 8.095 | n.a. | ||
thereof managers Total percentage of employees who have received a regular performance and career development | headcount | 1.483 | 1.480 | n.a. | ||
review (headcount) | % | 61% | 66% | n.a. | ||
thereof in management | % | 7% | 7% | n.a. | ||
thereof in the office | % | 17% | 19% | n.a. | ||
thereof in the plant | % | 41% | 40% | n.a. | ||
thereof male | % | 42% | 43% | n.a. | ||
thereof female | % | 19% | 23% | n.a. | ||
thereof other | % | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
thereof not reported | % | 0 | 0 | n.a. | ||
Employees covered by a health and safety management system based on legal requirements and/or | ||||||
recognised standards or guidelines (%) | % | 100% | 100% | 83% | ||
Accidents at work with more than one day lost | Days | 114 | 128 | 166 | ||
Accident rate Lost Time Accident Rate (calculated for 1 million h) | Accident/1 million h | 4,81 | 5,03 | 6,36 | ||
Accident rate Lost Time Accident Rate (calculated for 200,000 h) | Accident/200,000 h | 0,96 | 1,01 | 1,27 | ||
Working hours (in million h) | million h | 23,70 | 26,00 | 26,11 | ||
Prevention - number of reports of near misses | number | 24.643 | 19.835 | 12.263 | ||
Days lost due to work-related injuries | days | 2.580 | 2.144 | 2.099 | ||
Plant visits by Group Occupational Health & Safety managers at locations | number | 36 | 67 | 60 | ||
Occupational accidents with fatal consequences | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
Number of cases of notifiable work-related illnesses of employees | number | 4 | 19 | n.a. | ||
Gender Pay Gap | % | 18% | 22% | n.a. | ||
Remuneration Gap | Ratio | 1:136 | 1:134 | n.a. | ||
Reports via the complaints channel (whistleblower hotline) | number | 58 | 78 | 62 | ||
Personnel-related reports via the complaints channel (whistleblower hotline) | number | 36 | 60 | n.a. | ||
Confirmed cases of discrimination and harassment | number | 0 | 0 | 2 | ||
Confirmed severe human rights incidents (human trafficking, child labor, forced labour) | number | 0 | 0 | 0 | ||
Mayr-Melnhof Karton AG - KPI Overview
07/2026 2025-2024-2023 NFI Report tabs_v0

