Spirax-Sarco Engineering PLC
11 September 2001
DEALINGS BY SUBSTANTIAL SHAREHOLDERS
1) NAME OF COMPANY
SPIRAX-SARCO ENGINEERING PLC
2) NAME OF SHAREHOLDER HAVING A MAJOR INTEREST
M & G INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT LTD/PRUDENTIAL PLC
3) Please state whether notification indicates that it is in respect of
holding of the Shareholder named in 2 above or in respect of a
non-beneficial interest or in the case of an individual holder if it is a
holding of that person's spouse or children under the age of 18
M & G INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT LTD/PRUDENTIAL PLC
4) Name of the registered holder(s) and, if more than one holder, the
number of shares held by each of them.
SEE LETTER BELOW DATED 10TH SEPTEMBER 2001
5) Number of shares/amount of stock acquired.
NOT STATED
6) (NOT STATED %) of issued Class
7) Number of shares/amount of stock disposed
NOT STATED
8) ( N/A %) of issued Class
NOT STATED
9) Class of security
ORDINARY
10) Date of transaction
NOT KNOWN
11) Date company informed
10.9.01
12) Total holding following this notification
NOT STATED
13) Total percentage holding of issued class following this notification
NOT STATED
14) Any additional information
NO LONGER HAS A NOTIFIABLE INTEREST
15) Name of contact and telephone number for queries
GUY STAINER
MERRILL LYNCH - TEL 020 7996 2242
16) Name and signature of authorised company official responsible for
making this notification
P A SMITH
Date of Notification 10TH SEPTEMBER 2001
Letter to Spirax-Sarco Engineering plc - dated 10 September 2001
Companies Act 1985 (as amended):
Disclosure of Interests in Shares
In accordance with Part VI of the Companies Act 1985 (as amended) (the 'Act'),
we write to inform you that Prudential plc and all of its subsidiary companies,
no longer have a notifiable interest in the issued share capital of your
company:
For the purposes of S210 of the Act, the address for those companies identified
herein is Laurence Pountney Hill London EC4R 0HH.
Letter from Tom Dowler
for and on behalf of Prudential plc
Notifiable Position Report for SPIRAX-SARCO ENG ORD GBP0.25
as at 07 September 2001
Percentage holdings are calculated using an issued share capital of 73,819,820
ORD GBP0.25 shares.
Registered Holder Holding %
No Records Returned

