STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31 MARCH 2025 STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025
STATEMENT OF FINANCIAL POSITION | |||
ASSETS | NOTES | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Cash and cash equivalents | 5 | 12,692,323 | 680,886 |
Financial Assets: | |||
- At fair value through profit or loss | 6.1 | 68,263 | 68,263 |
- At amortised cost | 6.2 | 462,276 | 462,276 |
- At fair value through other comprehensive income | 6.3 | 159,356 | 159,356 |
Reinsurance assets | 7 | 368,242 | 368,242 |
Trade receivables | 8 | 2,275 | 2,275 |
Other receivables and prepayments | 9 | 706,729 | 706,729 |
Deferred acquisition costs | 10 | 16,782 | 16,782 |
Investment properties | 11 | 4,030,067 | 4,030,067 |
Intangible assets | 12 | - | - |
Property, plant and equipment | 13 | 33,097 | 30,757 |
Statutory deposit | 14 | 535,000 | 535,000 |
TOTAL ASSETS | 19,074,410 | 7,060,633 | |
LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY | |||
Insurance contract liabilities | 15 | 4,828,825 | 4,813,678 |
Investment contract liabilities | 16 | 1,137,674 | 1,137,674 |
Trade payables | 17 | 51,300 | 51,300 |
Other payables and accruals | 18 | 840,409 | 773,688 |
Borrowings | 19 | 3,843,321 | 3,843,321 |
Finance lease obligations | 20 | - | - |
Income tax liabilities | 21 | 316,820 | 316,820 |
Deferred tax liabilities | 22 | 61,909 | 61,909 |
TOTAL LIABILITIES | 11,080,259 | 10,998,391 | |
SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY | - | ||
Share capital | 23 | 6,455,515 | 6,455,515 |
Treasury shares | 24 | (1,145) | (1,145) |
Share premium | 25 | 7,484,955 | 7,484,955 |
Irredeemable convertible debt | 23b | 12,000,000 | |
Contingency reserves | 26 | 1,793,879 | 1,793,873 |
Accumulated loss | 27 | (19,792,653) | (19,724,557) |
Revaluation reserves | 28 | 48,291 | 48,291 |
Fair value reserves | 29 | 5,310 | 5,310 |
Total equity | 7,994,152 | (3,937,758) | |
TOTAL LIABILITIES AND SHAREHOLDERS' EQUITY | 19,074,410 | 7,060,633 |
Gross premium written | NOTES 30 | 2025 N'000 210 | 2024 N'000 - | |
Unearned premium | 30 | - | - | |
Movement in individual life | 15.4 | - | - | |
Movement in annuity Gross premium income Reinsurance expenses | 15.5 15.6 | - 210 - | - - - | |
Net premium income Commission income | 31 | 210 - | - - | |
Net underwriting income | 210 | - | ||
Claims expenses (net) | 32 | (238) | (76,4-92) | |
Underwriting expenses | 33 | (42) | - | |
Total underwriting expenses | (280) | (76,492) - | ||
Underwriting (loss)/profit | (70) | (76,492) | ||
Investment income 34(a) | - | 74,581 | ||
Other income 34(b) | - | 11,071 | ||
Gain/(loss) on investment contract liabilities 35 | - | - | ||
Management expenses 36 | (68,033) | - | ||
Expected credit loss expense 36(a) Impairment-Due to insurance Companies & | - | - | ||
brokers 36(b) | - | - | ||
Impairment- Other debtors 36(c) Impairment loss allowance on property, plant | - | - | ||
and equipment 36(d) Finance charges 37 Fair value loss on financial assets 6.1(a) | - - | -(112,624) - | ||
Impairment of claims recoverable 7.1 | - | - | ||
Fair value loss on investment properties 11 | - | - | ||
Foreign exchange gain/(loss) | - | - | ||
Gain/(loss) before taxation 41 | (68,102) | (103,465) | ||
Income tax 21 | (0) | - | ||
Deferred tax credit 21 | - | - | ||
Information technology development levy 38 | - | - | ||
Profit (Loss) for the period | (68,103) | (103,465) | ||
- | ||||
Other comprehensive income | - | |||
Item that may be reclassified to profit or loss: Fair value loss on financial assets at FVOCI 29 | - | - - | ||
Items that will not be classified to profit or loss: Revaluation loss on building 28 | - | - - | ||
Revaluation surplus reversed during the period 28 | - | - | ||
Other comprehensive loss | - | - | ||
- | ||||
Total comprehensive loss for the period | (68,103) | (103,465) | ||
- | ||||
Earnings per share : Basic (Naira) | 41 | (0.53) | (0.80) | |
STATEMENT OF CHANGES IN EQUITY | ||||||||
Share | Treasury | Share | Contingency | Accumulated | Revaluation | Fair value | ||
Capital | shares | Premium | Reserves | Loss | Reserves | Reserve | Total | |
N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | |
At 1 January 2025 | 6,455,515 | (1,145) | 7,484,955 | 1,795,385 | (19,724,557) | 48,292 | 5,310 | (3,936,246) |
Total comprehensive income for the period | ||||||||
Loss for the period | - - - - | (68,103) | - - | (68,103) | ||||
Transfer to contingency reserve (Note 26) | - - - | 6 | (6) | - - | - | |||
Fair value loss on treasury shares (Note 24) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Other comprehensive income: | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | |
Revaluation on building (Note 28) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Revaluation surplus reversed during the period (Note 28) Fair value loss on financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income (Note 30) | - - | - | - - | - - | - - | - - | - - | - - |
At 31 March 2025 | 6,455,515 | (1,145) | 7,484,955 | 1,795,391 | (19,792,666) | 48,292 | 5,310 | (4,004,348) |
At 1 January 2024 | 6,455,515 | (1,145) | 7,484,955 | 1,793,872 | (19,621,092) | 48,292 | 5,310 | (3,834,294) |
Loss for the period Transfer to contingency reserve (Note 26) | - - - - - - - 1,513 | (103,465) | (103,465) | |||||
Fair value loss on treasury shares (Note 24) | - - - - | - | - - - | |||||
Fair value loss on available for sale financial assets | - - - | - - - | ||||||
Other comprehensive income: | - - - - | - | - - - | |||||
Revaluation surplus reversed during the period (Note 28) | - - - | - | - - - | |||||
Fair value loss on financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income (N | - - - - | - | - - - | |||||
- - - | - | - - - | ||||||
At 31 March 2024 | 6,455,515 | (1,145) | 7,484,955 | 1,795,385 | (19,724,557) | 48,292 | 5,310 | (3,937,759) |
STATEMENT OF CASH FLOWS | ||||
NOTES | 2025 | 2024 | ||
Cash flows from operating activities | N'000 | N'000 | ||
Premium received from policy holders | 40 | 210 | 5,044 | |
Cash received on investment contract | 16 | - | - | |
Cash withdrawals on investment contract | 16 | - | - | |
Fees and commission | 31 | - | - | |
Other income | 34(b) | - | 11,071 | |
Claims recovered | 32a | - | ||
Claims paid | 32 | (237.85) | (76,492) | |
Cash payments for reinsurance | 15.7 | - | - | |
Commissions paid | 33a | (42) | - | |
Other acquisition costs paid | 33 | (3) | - | |
Loans against policy | 6.2.1(b) | - | - | |
Repayment of policy loan | 6.2.1(b) | - | - | |
Cash payments to employees, suppliers and others | (68,033) | - | ||
(68,105) | (60,378) | |||
Taxes paid: Income tax | 21 | (0) | - | |
Net cash used from operating activities | (68,105) | 19,939 | ||
Cash flows from investing activities | - | |||
Purchase of Property, plant and equipment | 13 | (2,340) | - | |
Rental income | 18.2 | - | - | |
Dividends received | 34(a) | 9,945.00 | 37,019 | |
Interest on treasury bills | 34(a) | - | ||
Interest received on fixed deposits/statutory deposit | 34(a) | 37,562 | ||
Gain from sale of property, plant & equipment | 34b | - | - | |
Proceeds from sale of property, plant and equipment | - | - | ||
Proceeds from sale of investment property | - | - | ||
Liquidation of financial assets at amortised cost | 6.2.2a | - | - | |
Addition to financial assets at amortised cost | 6.2.2(a) | - | - | |
Net cash generated from investing activities | 7,605 | 74,581 | ||
Cash flows from financing activities | - | |||
Finance charges | 37 | - | (112,624) | |
Repayment of lease finance | 20 | - | - | |
Loan borrowing | 19.2 | 23,177 | - | |
Irredeemable convertible debt 12,000,000 | ||||
Loan repayment | 19.2 | - | - | |
Net cash (used)/flows from financing activities | 12,023,177 | (112,624) | ||
- | ||||
Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents during the period | 11,962,677 | (55,830) | ||
Cash and cash equivalents at the beginning of the period | 731,711 | 787,541 | ||
Cash and cash equivalents at the end of the period | 12,694,388 | 731,711 | ||
Cash and cash equivalent comprise: | - | |||
Cash in hand | 27 | 27 | ||
Current Bank accounts balances | 12,025,731.46 | 17,483 | ||
Short term deposits - Local banks | 666,565 | 663,375 | ||
12,692,323 | 787,541 | |||
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | ||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | ||
5 Cash and cash equivalents | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Cash in hand | 27 | 27 |
Bank balances | 12,028,921.20 | 17,483.32 |
Short term deposits | 666,565 | 666,565 |
12,695,513 | 684,075 | |
Allowance for credit losses (Note 6a) | (3,190) | (3,190) |
12,692,323 | 680,886 | |
5(a) | Impairment allowance for cash and cash equivalents | ||
At 1 January Movements during the period (Note 36a) | 3,190 - | 3,190 - | |
At 31 March | 3,190 | 3,190 | |
6 | Financial assets At fair value through profit or loss (FVPL) - Note 6.1 | 68,263 | 68,263 |
At amortised cost (Note 6.2) | 462,276 | 462,276 | |
At fair value through other comprehensive income (FVOCI) - Note 6.3.1 | 159,356 | 159,356 | |
689,895 | 689,895 | ||
6.1 | Financial assets at fair value through profit or loss (FVPL) At 1 January | 68,263 | 68,263 |
Addition during the period Fair value gain/(loss) during the period [Note 6.1(a)] Disposal during the period | - - - | - - - | |
At 31 March | 68,263 | 68,263 | |
6.1(a) | Fair value (gain)/loss disclosed in the income statement is as analysed below: | ||
Fair value gain/(loss) on equity instrument carried at FVPL (Note 6.1) | - | - | |
- | - |
Included in short term deposits is a sum of N3,182,144.27 (2020: N3,182,144.27) being unclaimed dividends returned by First Registrars Limited as instructed by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). This amount is included in other accruals (Note 18).
Short-term deposits are made for varying periods of between one day and three months depending on the immediate cash requirements of the Company.
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | ||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | ||
2025 | 2024 | |
N'000 | N'000 | |
6.1.2 Analysis of the fair value of the Company's investments in listed entities is shown below: | ||
ABC Transport Plc | 3,987 | 3,987 |
Africa Prudential Registrar Plc | - | - |
Lafarge Cement | 563 | 563 |
Cornerstone Insurance Plc | 207 | 207 |
Dangote Sugar Refineries Plc | 5,280 | 5,280 |
Diamond Bank Plc (Now Access Bank Plc) | 207 | 207 |
Ecobank Transnational Plc (ETI) | 79 | 79 |
First City Monument Bank Limited | 6,324 | 6,324 |
Fidelity Bank Plc | 6,022 | 6,022 |
First Bank of Nigeria Limited | 6,977 | 6,977 |
Guaranty Trust Bank Plc | 1,415 | 1,415 |
Nigerian Aviation Handling Company | 1,195 | 1,195 |
Oando Plc | 142 | 142 |
Polaris Bank Plc | 849 | 849 |
UBA Capital | 167 | 167 |
United Bank for Africa Plc | 3,970 | 3,970 |
Halal lotus capital | 163 | 163 |
WAPIC Insurance Plc | 22 | 22 |
Zenith Bank International Plc | 3,633 | 3,633 |
WAICA | 27,061 | 27,061 |
68,263 | 68,263 | |
6.2 Financial assets at amortised costs | ||
Loans and receivables (Note 6.2.1) | 71,118 | 71,118 |
Treasury bills (Note 6.2.2) | 393,693 | 393,693 |
464,811 | 464,811 | |
Allowance for credit losses | (2,535) | (2,535) |
462,276 | 462,276 | |
6.2.1 Loans and receivables Loans against policies (Note 7.2.1a) | 69,125 | 69,125 |
Staff debtors (Note 7.2.1c) | 1,439 | 1,439 |
Agency loan | 554 | 554 |
71,118 | 71,118 | |
Allowance for credit losses | (2,535) | (2,535) |
68,583 | 68,583 | |
‌a Loans against policies
2025 | 2024 | |
N'000 | N'000 | |
GSL policy loan | 14,621 | 14,621 |
Standard Life Accumulator Scheme (SLA) | 3,263 | 3,263 |
Special Personnel Policy (SPP) | 5,093 | 5,093 |
Flexible Assurance scheme (FAS) | 478 | 478 |
Personal Providence Plan (PPP) | 43,396 | 43,396 |
Annuity Policy Loan | 200 | 200 |
Deposit Link Assurance (DELAS) | 2,048 | 2,048 |
SIP- Policy loan | 26 | 26 |
69,125 | 69,125 |
The Company grants commercial loans to life policyholders. The surrender values serve as collaterals for the loans. The details of the loans are as shown below:
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)
b Movement in loans against policies
2025 2024
N'000 N'000
At 1 January 69,125 69,125
Additions during the period - -
Repayments - -
At 31 March 69,125 69,125
‌c Movement in staff debtors
At 1 January 1,439 1,439
Additions during the period - -
Repayments during the period - -
At 31 March 1,439 1,439
‌Treasury bill
Treasury bills (Note 6.2.2a) 393,693 393,693
Allowance for credit losses - -
393,693 393,693
‌a Movement in treasury bills
At 1 January 393,693 393,491
Addition during the period - 202
Liquidation during the period - -
At 31 March 393,693 393,693
This refers to the Company's investment in treasury bill with tenors of 91 - 365 days fair valued at a discounted rate of 12.35%.
‌Impairment allowance for amortised costs
At 1 January (257) (257)
Charged to profit or loss during the period (Note 36a) - -
At 31 March (257) (257)
‌ECL allowance on amortised costs charged to profit or loss during the period is shown below:
ECL allowance on treasury bills - -
‌ECL allowance on loans and receivables - -
Charged to profit or loss during the period - -
6.3 Financial assets at fair value through other comprehensive income
Quoted Shares in Transcorp Plc (Note 6.3.1) | 159,356 | 159,356 |
‌6.3.1 Investment in quoted shares (Transcorp Plc) | ||
At 1 January | 159,356 | 159,356 |
Fair value loss during the period (Note 29) | - | - |
At 31 March | 159,356 | 159,356 |
‌7 Reinsurance assets | ||
Reinsurer share of outstanding claims (Note 7.1) | 255,100 | 255,100 |
Reinsurer's share of claims IBNR (Note 7.2) | 101,023 | 101,023 |
Reinsurer's share of UPR (Note 7.3) | 12,119 | 12,119 |
368,242 | 368,242 | |
These represent amounts recoverable from reinsurers in respect of claims incurred and | ||
reinsurance premium paid of which risks have not expired. The reinsurance assets are of current maturity. | ||
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025‌NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)
2025 2024
‌Reinsurance assets - cont'd N'000 N'000
Reinsurer share of outstanding claims
Life business claims recoverable - -
Non-life business claims recoverable 255,100 255,100
255,100 255,100
Movement in claims recoverable during the period is as follows:
At 1 January 255,100 255,100
Allowance for impairment - -
(Decrease)/Increase during the period (Note 32a) - -
At 31 March 255,100 255,100
Claims recoverable represents balances due from re-insurance companies in respect of claims paid. During the period, the Company carried out a reconciliation of claims recoverable with its reinsurers. There is an decrease of N1.9million in claims recoverable and allowance for impairment of N170.202 million (2020: N170.202 million) on recoverable as at reporting date.
‌Reinsurer's share of IBNR
Life business IBNR - -
Non-life business IBNR 101,023 101,023
101,023 101,023
Movement in Reinsurer's Share of IBNR during the period is as follows:
At 1 January 101,023 122,285
(Decrease)/increase during the period (Note 32a) - (21,262)
At 31 March 101,023 101,023
‌Reinsurer's Share of UPR
Life business UPR - -
Non-life business UPR 12,119 12,119
12,119 12,119
‌Movement in Reinsurer's Share of UPR
At 1 January Decrease during the period (Note 15.6) | 12,119 - | 12,119 - |
At 31 March | 12,119 | 12,119 |
‌8 Trade receivables | ||
At 1 January | 2,275 | 65,788 |
Additions during the period | - | 2,275 |
Received during the period | - | - |
At 31 March | 2,275 | 68,063 |
Allowance for impairment - due from insurance companies and brokers (Note 37b) | - | (65,788) |
‌Carrying amount at 31 March | 2,275 | 2,275 |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | ||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | 2025 | 2024 |
9 Other receivables and prepayments | N'000 | N'000 |
Other debtors (Note 9.1) | 740,000 | 740,000 |
Interest receivable (Note 9.2) | 5,630 | 5,630 |
Prepaid rent | - | - |
Staff advances | 444 | 444 |
Deposit for quoted shares (Note 9.3) | 656 | 656 |
746,729 | 746,730 | |
Allowance for impairment | (40,000) | (40,000) |
706,729 | 706,730 |
This sum includes N700 million receivable on disposal of the ₦1.4 billion worth of land and building in 2020, and ₦40 million loan to a former Director of the Company unpaid as at reporting period.
The loan to a former Director of the Company who pledged 250 hectares of Land at Kaduna State costing N40 million as collateral. The documents of the Land has been fully executed but issues relating to consent and ownership have not been perfected. Therefore, the loan is now being fully impaired.
This represents accrued biannual interest on statutory deposits with the Central Bank of Nigeria.
Deposit for quoted shares represents the Company's subscription for right issues in Access Bank Plc which are yet to be allotted.
‌10 | Deferred acquisition costs: | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Aviation | - | - | |
Engineering | 391 | 391 | |
Fire | 7,578 | 7,578 | |
General accident | 1,322 | 1,322 | |
Marine | 980 | 980 | |
Motor | 5,391 | 5,391 | |
Bond | 187 | 187 | |
Oil and Gas | 1 | 1 | |
Life business | 932 | 932 | |
16,782 | 16,782 | ||
The movement in deferred acquisition cost is: At 1 January | 16,782 | 16,782 | |
Additions during the period | - | 44 |
Amortisation for the period (Note 33) - (44)
11 Investment properties | ||
At 1 January | 4,030,067 | 4,030,067 |
Disposed during the period (Note 11.1) | - | - |
Reclassified from property, plant and equipment (Note 13) | - | - |
Reclassified to other receivables and prepayments (Note 9) | - | - |
Fair value (loss)/gain during the period (Note 11.2.1) | - | - |
At 31 December 16,782 16,782
‌At 31 March (Fair value) 4,030,06 | 7 | 4,030,067 | ||
11.1 | The property situated at Shapati Village, Ibeju, Lekki was sold during the period. | |||
Further details are: Valuation | - | - | ||
Sale proceeds | - | - | ||
Gain on sale of property | ` | - | - | |
11.2 | History and movement in fair value gain Cost as at date of initial recognition | 3,186,501 | 3,186,501 | |
Cumulative fair value gain at 1 January Fair value loss for the period | 843,566 - | 843,566 - | ||
Cumulative fair value gain at 31 December | 843,566 | 843,566 | ||
At 31 March | 4,030,067 | 4,030,067 | ||
‌Fair value loss reported in the statement of profit or loss
Fair value changes in investment properties - -
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS | |||||||
Fair value | |||||||
Movements in investment properties 2025 | Cost | gain at 1 January | Balance at 1 Addition during the January peri od | Sold during the period | Revaluation (loss) | Balance at 31 March | |
250 hectars of Farmland at Mydumbi Village 11 units of 4-bedroom terrace houses at New County | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 |
Estate, Lekki, Lagos 10 units of 2 Bedroom Terrace houses at No 17, | 1,045,000 | - | 1,168,750 | - | - | - | 1,168,750 |
Gbangbala Road, Ikate Elegushi, Lekki | 244,734 | - | 661,184 | - | - | - | 661,184 |
One wing of 4 bedroom duplex, Lekki, Lagos | 57,371 | - | 97,284 | - | - | - | 97,284 |
Six (6) storey lettable office complex - Ebute Metta | 201,301 | - | 875,325 | - | - | - | 875,325 |
Six (6) bedroom detached house, Asokoro-Abuja | 268,595 | - | 757,149 | - | - | - | 757,149 |
Abuja plot of Land at Cadastral Zone. | 320,000 | - - | - - - - | ||||
Oreki Village, Ibeju, Lekki. | 600,000 | - 450,000 | - - - 450,000 | ||||
Shapati Village, Ibeju, Lekki. | 446,000 | - - | - - - - | ||||
Flat 3,Block 2, Kadiri Estate, Joseph Dosu, Badagry. | 3,500 | - 20,375 | - - - 20,375 | ||||
3,186,501 | - 4,030,067 | - - - 4,030,067 | |||||
‌Movements in investment properties 2024
‌Fair value gain at 1‌
Balance at 1
Reclassified from
Reclassified to other receivables and prepayments
‌Revaluation
‌Balance as
at 31
‌Cost | January | January | PPE (Note 14) | (Note 10) | (loss)/gain | December | |
250 hectares of Farmland at Mydumbi Village 11 units of 4-bedroom terrace houses at New County | -1,045,000 | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Estate, Lekki, Lagos | - | 1,168,750 | - - - | 1,168,750 | |
10 units of 2 Bedroom Terrace houses at No 17, | 244,734 | ||||
Gbangbala Road, Ikate Elegushi, Lekki | - | 661,184 | - - - | 661,184 | |
One wing of 4 bedroom duplex, Lekki, Lagos | 57,371 | - | 97,284 | - - - | 97,284 |
Six (6) storey lettable office complex - Ebute Metta | 201,301 | - | 875,325 | - - - | 875,325 |
Six (6) bedroom detached house, Asokoro-Abuja | 268,595 | - | 757,149 | - - - | 757,149 |
Abuja plot of land, Cadasral Zone | 320,000 | - | - | - - - | - |
Oreki Village, Ibeju, Lekki. | 600,000 | - | 450,000 | - - - | 450,000 |
Shapati Village, Ibeju, Lekki. | 446,000 | - | - | - - - | - |
Flat 3,Block 2, Kadiri Estate, Joseph Dosu, Badagry. | 3,500 | - | 20,375 | - - - | 20,375 |
3,186,501 | - | 4,030,067 | - - - | 4,030,067 |
11.3 | The status of the Company's investments properties are | detailed below: | |||||
S/N | Description of | Date of | Nature of | Locations | Carrying | Steps taken | |
Name on Title Document | Properties | Acquisition | Document | Amount N'000 | for perfection | ||
i | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | Warehouse | 2015 | Deed of | Oreki Village, Ibeji-Lekki | 450,000 | Perfection in |
Assignment | progress | ||||||
ii | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | 11 Unit of 4 | 2009 | Registered Title | New County Terrace, Iroko Awe, Lekki | 1,210,000 | Near |
Bedroom Flat | Pennisula | Perfection | |||||
iii | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | 10 Units of 2 B/R | 2003 | Deed of | No 17 Gbangbala Road, Ikate, Elegushi, | 800,000 | Perfection in |
Terace Hse | Assignment | Lekki, Lagos | progress | ||||
Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | 3 Bedroom Duplex | 2012 | Deed of | Flat 3, Block 2, Kadiri Est, Joseph Dosu | 26,000 | Perfection in | |
Assignment | Way,Badagry | progress | |||||
iv | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | 4 Bedroom Duplex | 2003 | Registered Title | House 13B, Oba Adeyinka Estate, Lekki, | 110,589 | Near |
Lagos | Perfection | ||||||
v | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | Six (6) storey | 2012 | Registered Title | No 22, Herbert Macaulay Street, Ebute Meta, | 1,100,000 | Near |
vi | Standard Alliance Insurance Plc | lettable Offices Six (6) Bedroom | 2010 | Deed of | Lagos House 1207, Yakubu Gowon, Asokoro, Abuja | 920,000 | Perfection Perfection in |
Detached House | Assignment | progress | |||||
4,616,589
Investment properties held by Standard Alliance Insurance Plc were independently valued by Osaro Eguasa & co (FRC/2012/0000000000423) and James Garuba & Company (FRC/1999/00000003709) on 31 December 2020. The fair value of each of the properties was determined by discounting the expected cash flows of each property based upon internal plans and assumptions and comparable market transactions.
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 OTHER NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS12 Intangible asset | ||
Computer software | 2025 | 2024 |
Cost | N'000 | N'000 |
At 1 January | 15,000 | 15,000 |
Addition during the period - -
At 31 March 15,000 15,000
‌Amortisation
At 1 January 15,000 12,496
Amortisation for the period - 2,504
At 31 March 15,000 15,000
Carrying amount at 31 March - -
The intangible asset relates to the Company's accounting software package, Global Insurance Business Solution (GIBS) which is an underwriting solution software bought from a Nigerian Information Technology Company, Intteck Global systems Limited.
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC
Property, plant and equipment Land | Building | Motor vehicles | Furniture and fittings | Computer equipment | Office equipment | Generating set | Total |
Cost/valuations: | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 N'000 |
At 1 January 2024 | - | - | 823,290 | 294,374 | 134,985 | 196,775 | 123,357 1,572,781 |
Additions | - | - | - | - | - | - | - - |
Allowance for impairment (Note 29.1) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - - |
Revaluation loss (Note 29) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - - |
Write off | - | - | - | - | - | - | - - |
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
13
At 31 December 2024 | - | - | 823,290 | 294,374 | 134,985 | 196,775 | 123,357 | 1,572,781 |
At 1 January 2025 | - | - | 823,290 | 294,374 | 134,985 | 196,775 | 123,357 | 1,572,781 |
Additions | - | - | - | - | 2,340 | - | - | 2,340 |
Allowance for impairment (Note 29.1) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Reclassification to investment properties (Note | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Revaluation loss (Note 29) | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Write off | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
At 31 March 2025 | - | - | 823,290 | 294,374 | 137,325 | 196,775 | 123,357 | 1,575,121 |
Accumulated depreciation and impairment: | ||||||||
At 1 January 2024 | - | - | 823,243 246,909 133,762 190,366 123,357 | 1,517,637 | ||||
Charge for the period | - | - | 47 | 10,684 | 870 | 592 | - | 12,193 |
Reclassification | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Write off | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
At 31 December 2024 | - | - | 823,290 | 257,593 | 134,632 | 190,958 | 123,357 | 1,529,830 |
At 1 January 2025 | - | - | 823,290 | 257,593 | 134,632 | 190,958 | 123,357 | 1,529,830 |
Charge for the period | - | - | 47 | 10,684 | 870 | 592 | - | 12,193 |
Reclassification | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
Write off | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
At 31 March 2025 | - | - | 823,337 | 268,277 | 135,502 | 191,550 | 123,357 | 1,542,023 |
Carrying amounts as at: At 31 March 2025 | - | - | (47) | 26,097 | 1,823 | 5,225 | - | 33,097 |
31 December 2024 | - | - | (47) | 26,097 | (517) | 5,225 | - | 30,758 |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025
‌NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)13.2 The status of the Company's land and buildings is as detailed below
‌Name on Title Document Date of Acquisition
‌Nature of Document
Deed of
Location
Plot 1, Block 94,
‌Carrying amount N'000
Steps for perfection
Standard Alliance Insurance Plc 2009
Standard Alliance Insurance Plc 2011
Assignment
Deed of Assignment
Providence Street, Lekki, Lagos
Plot 1, Block 94, Providence Street, Lekki, Lagos
- Sold
- Sold
Standard Alliance Insurance Plc 2001 Registered Title
No 20, Fola-Bolumole Street, Ibadan
- Near Perfection
-
None of the Company's assets was pledged as security on loan as at period end (2022: Nil).
There was an impairment loss recognised in the Company's property, plant and equipment at the end of the period.
14 Statutory Deposits | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Statutory deposit for life business | 200,000 | 200,000 |
Statutory deposit for non-life business | 335,000 | 335,000 |
535,000 | 535,000 | |
These represent 10% of the minimum paid up share capital deposited with the Central Bank of | ||
Nigeria in accordance with Section 10 (3) of the Insurance Act, CAP I17, LFN 2004. | ||
15 Insurance contract liabilities | ||
Unearned premium reserves (Note 15.1) | 114,570 | 114,570 |
Outstanding claims (Note 15.2) | 1,818,754 | 1,818,991 |
Provision for claims incurred but not reported (IBNR) (Note 15.3) | 418,745 | 418,745 |
Individual life (Note 15.4) | 391,460 | 391,460 |
Annuity fund (Note 15.5) | 2,085,296 | 2,183,436 |
4,828,825 | 4,927,202 | |
15.1 Unearned premium reserves Aviation | 6,370 | 6,370 |
Bond | 3,019 | 3,019 |
Engineering | 1,178 | 1,178 |
Fire | 27,537 | 27,537 |
General accident | 6,427 | 6,427 |
Marine | 4,900 | 4,900 |
Motor | 43,980 | 43,980 |
Oil & gas | 7 | 7 |
Life | 21,152 | 21,152 |
114,570 | 114,570 | |
15.1.2 Movements in unearned premium reserve At 1 January | 114,570 | 114,570 |
Increase in during the period (Note 30) | - | - |
At 31 March | 114,570 | 114,570 |
2025 | 2024 | ||
15.2 Outstanding claims reserves | N'000 | N'000 | |
Aviation | 100,281 | 100,281 | |
Bond | 13,004 | 13,004 | |
Engineering | 55,191 | 55,191 | |
Fire | 203,762 | 203,762 | |
General accident | 223,269 | 223,269 | |
Marine | 16,198 | 16,198 | |
Motor | 132,067 | 132,067 | |
Oil & Gas | 765,612 | 777,493 | |
Group life | 297,727 | 297,727 | |
1,807,111 | 1,818,992 | ||
15.2.1 Movements in outstanding claims are further analysed below: | |||
At 1 January | 1,818,992 | 1,818,992 | |
Increase/(decrease) during the period (Note 32) | (238) | - | |
At 31 March | 1,818,754 | 1,818,992 | |
15.2.2 The age analysis of outstanding claims are: | |||
0 - | 90 days | 5,554 | 5,554 |
91 - | 180 days | 88,073 | 88,073 |
181 - | 270 days | 13,341 | 13,341 |
271 - | 365 days | 80,497 | 80,497 |
366 days and above | 1,619,645 | 1,631,526 | |
1,807,111 | 1,818,992 | ||
The delay in settlement of outstanding claims that are over 90 days was as a result of late submission of necessary documents and data on the part of the claimants. Also, the need to verify the veracity of the claims contributed to this delay.
15.2.3 REASONS FOR OUTSTANDING CLAIMS CAN BE ANALYSED AS FOLLOWS:
0-90 | 91-180 | 181-270 | 271-365 | Above 365 | 2025 | |
31 March 2025 | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | Total |
N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | |
Discharge Voucher Issued- Life | 454 | 73,164 | 8,525 | 14,701 | 189,003 | 285,846 |
Discharge Voucher Issued- Non-Life | - | 7,725 | 1,308 | 16,967 | 528,790 | 554,791 |
Awaiting Lost Adjusters report | 4,201 | - | 132,792 | 136,993 | ||
Awaiting Documentation from Claimants | 5,100 | 2,983 | 3,508 | 48,829 | 520,425 | 580,845 |
Abandoned by Claimants | 83,004 | 83,004 | ||||
Incomplete Documentations by Claimants | 165,631 | 165,631 | ||||
TOTAL | 5,554 | 88,073 | 13,341 | 80,497 | 1,619,645 | 1,807,111 |
0-90 | 91-180 | 181-270 | 271-365 | Above 365 | 2024 | |
31 December 2024 | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | DAYS | Total |
N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | N'000 | |
Discharge Voucher Issued- Life | 454 | 73,164 | 8,525 | 14,701 | 200,884 | 297,727 |
Discharge Voucher Issued- Non-Life | - | 7,725 | 1,308 | 16,967 | 528,790 | 554,791 |
Awaiting Lost Adjusters report | 4,201 | - | 132,792 | 136,993 | ||
Awaiting Documentation from Claimants | 5,100 | 2,983 | 3,508 | 48,829 | 520,425 | 580,845 |
Abandoned by Claimants | 83,004 | 83,004 | ||||
Incomplete Documentations by Claimants | 165,631 | 165,631 | ||||
TOTAL | 5,554 | 88,073 | 13,341 | 80,497 | 1,631,526 | 1,818,992 |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC
‌15.3 IBNR Per Actuarial valuation | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Aviation | 6,570 | 6,570 |
Bond | 5,786 | 5,786 |
Engineering | 48,112 | 48,112 |
Fire | 147,514 | 147,514 |
General accident | 9,375 | 9,375 |
Marine | 5,246 | 5,246 |
Motor | 41,181 | 41,181 |
Oil & Gas | 78,760 | 78,760 |
Life | 76,202 | 76,202 |
418,746 | 418,746 | |
‌15.3.1 Movement in IBNR At 1 January | 418,746 | 418,746 |
(Decrease)/increase during the period (Note 32) | - | - |
At 31 March | 418,746 | 418,746 |
‌15.4 Movement in individual life At 1 January | 391,460 | 391,460 |
Increase/(decrease) during the period | - | - |
At 31 March | 391,460 | 391,460 |
‌15.5 Movement in annuity fund At 1 January | 2,183,436 | 1,756,894 |
Increase during the period | - | - |
Adjustments* | (98,140) | 426,542 |
At 31 March | 2,085,296 | 2,183,436 |
Adjustments* - This is to align the UPCL bank confirmation balance to the ledger. | ||
‌15.6 Reinsurance expenses | ||
Reinsurance cost | - | - |
Changes in UPR (Note 7.3.1) | - | - |
- | - | |
‌15.7 Cash payments for reinsurance Reinsurance cost (Note 15.6) | - | - |
Changes in due to reinsurer payable (Note 17) | - | - |
‌Per statement of cash flows | - | - |
16 Investment Contract Liabilities | ||
At 1 January | 1,137,674 | 1,137,674 |
Amount received in the period | - | - |
Interest expenses | - | - |
‌Withdrawals | - | - |
At 31 March | 1,137,674 | 1,137,674 |
17 Trade payables | ||
Due to Reinsurer | 36,257 | 36,257 |
‌Underwriting expenses payable | 15,043 | 15,043 |
51,300 | 51,300 | |
The trade payables are all of current maturity. |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | |||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | |||
2025 | 2024 | ||
N'000 | N'000 | ||
18 Other payables and accruals Statutory deductions (Note 18.1) | 180,051 | 174,460 | |
Information technology development levy (Note 38) | 8,406 | 8,406 | |
Rent received in advance (Note 18.2) | 0 | 0 | |
Due to staff | 106,839 | 106,839 | |
Accrued expenses (Note 18.4) | 243,230 | 236,104 | |
Unclaimed dividend | 3,182 | 3,182 | |
Deferred Commission Income (18.5) | - | - | |
Preference dividend payable (Note 18.6) | 175,000 | 175,000 | |
Amount due to other beneficiaries (Note 18.7) | 41,186 | 16,275 | |
Annuity fund fee payable (Note 18.8) | 16,651 | 16,651 | |
Industrial training fund | - | - | |
Directors' current account | 33,271 | 33,271 | |
Unearned interest on treasury bills | - | - | |
Loan | 32,593 | ||
840,409 770,188 | |||
The above are further analysed as: | |||
Current Non-current | 840,409 -840,409 | 770,188 -770,188 | |
‌18.1 | Statutory deductions | ||
PAYE payable | 89,313 | 87,494 | |
Pension payable | 48,841 | 45,069 | |
VAT payable | 3,838 | 3,838 | |
Withholding tax 38,059 | 38,059 | ||
180,051 | 174,460 | ||
‌18.2 | Movement in rent received in advance At January 1 | 0 | 1,000 |
Additional rental Income received - -
Rental income recognised during the period (Note 34a) - -
‌At 31 March 0 0
18.3 Accrued expenses
Audit fee accrual 10,000.00 20,000
NAICOM supervisory levy 13,626 -
FRC statutory annual dues - -
Management expenses payable 94,895 94,895
Accrued expenses 124,709 124,709
243,230 239,604
‌18.7 Amount due to other beneficiaries‌‌‌ Staff fines and penalties | N'000 4,828 | N'000 4,828 |
Staff group life payable | 151 | 151 |
Other creditors | 36,207 | 11,296 |
41,186 | 16,275 | |
‌18.8 Annuity fund fee payable | N'000 | N'000 |
At January 1 | 16,651 | 16,651 |
Addition during the period - - | ||
At 31 March | 16,651 | 16,651 |
19 Borrowings | N'000 | N'000 |
Daewoo Secuirities Bond (Note 19.1) | 3,841,795 | 1,976,233 |
Cowry Asset Management Limited (Note 19.2) 1,526 | 1,526 | |
3,843,321 | 1,977,759 | |
18.5 Deferred Commission Income
At January 1
Addition During the period
Amortised During the period (Note 31)
At 31 March
2025
N'000
-
-
2024
N'000
1,190
(1,190)
- -
- -
18.6 Preference dividend payable
175,000
175,000
The Company had 17,500,000 (Seventeen Million, Five Hundred Thousand units of preference shares of N100 (One Hundred Naira) each prior to period ended 31 December 2011. These were converted to ordinary shares of 50k (50 Kobo) each in the Company and issued to the holders of the preference shares as at 31 December 2011 in accordance with the resolution passed at the 15th Annual General Meeting of 16th December 2011. The amount of N175 million is the balance of pre conversion dividend yet unpaid as at 31 March 2025 reporting date.
Annuity fund fee represents a provision of 1% out of annuity premium received in a financial period. This is being proposed by NAICOM. The balance at the end of the period represents provisions as at reporting dates.
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC ‌FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)
‌Daewoo Securities Bond
The Company received a capital inflow of JPY650,000,000 ($7,397,516) zero coupon bond raised from Daewoo Securities in December 2009.
The bond was tenured originally for 20 periods with the lenders' option to convert the bond to Standard Alliance Insurance Plc's ordinary shares. If the option is not exercised, the Company must pay interest 4.25% per annum on the gross bond value for the entire term it has been outstanding.
Daewoo Securities requested the full redemption of the bond in 2011, after which the Company negotiated with it and a repayment plan with the bond owners was renegotiated in 2012. Further negotiations commenced in 2015 and are still ongoing. The Company's outstanding liability to Daewoo Securities as of 31 March 2025 is JPY605,236,000 (2022:JPY580,562,000), principal and interest inclusive.
Further details of transactions during the period are:
At 1 January
Principal JPY'000
398,203
Interest JPY'000
182,359
Total JPY'000
580,562
2025
N'000 1,976,233
2024
N'000 1,994,015
Interest accrued during the period
-
24,674
24,674
112,624
76,688
Foreign exchange difference
-
-
-
1,752,938
(94,470)
At 31 March
398,203 207,033 605,236 3,841,795 1,976,233
Current maturities
JPY'000
JPY'000
Interest
207,033
182,359
Principal
398,203
398,203
Total current maturities
605,236
580,562
Non-current principal maturity
-
-
605,236
580,562
The balance of JPY 605,236,000,000 (2022: JPY 580,562,000) is stated in the financial statements at the Central Bank of Nigeria closing exchange rate of N6.3476/JPY as at 31 December 2023. Subsequent to 2023 reporting period, no payment has been made on principal and interest.
‌Cowry Asset Loan N'000 N'000
At 1 January 1,526 1,526
Addition during the period - -
Accrued interest - -
Repayment during the period - -
At 31 March 1,526 1,526
‌Repayments during the period
Principal - -
Loan interest charge - -
- -
The Company entered into a new loan arrangement with Cowry Assets Management Limited for working capital needs. The new loan was consummated in July 2019 at a value of N300million. The loan is payable within one period at the interest rate of 28%.
20 | Finance lease obligations At 1 January Repayments during the period (Note 20a) | N'000 - - | N'000 - - |
At 31 March | - | - | |
20a | Repayments during the period Principal | - | - |
Lease interest charge | - | - | |
- | - |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC ‌FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)
-
Finance lease obligations - cont'd
In 2016, the Company acquired a new lease facility of N24,000,000 from CFS Financial Services Limited at an interest rate of 23% for a lease period of 36 months to finance the acquisition of a motor vehicle.
This motor vehicle is included in the property, plant and equipment of the Company as at 31 December 2020. The rental due as at 31 December 2020 are further analysed as follows:
2025 2024
N'000 N'000
Less than 3 months - -
Between 3 and 6 months - -
Between 6 and 12 months - -
- -
Over 12 months - -
- -
Current income tax liabilities
Per Statement of Comprehensive income
Company income tax 0 -
Education tax - -
Deferred tax - -
0 -
‌Per Statement of Financial Position:
At 1 January
Company income tax 316,820 316,820
Education tax - -
316,820 316,820
Provisions for the period:
Company income tax 0 -
Education tax - -
Payments during the period:
Company income tax (0) -
Education tax - -
‌At 31 March 316,820 316,820
Deferred tax liabilities
At 1 January 61,909 61,909
Charged for the period - -
Tax on gain/(loss) on revaluation of property, plant and equipment - -
At 31 March 61,909 61,909
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS - (continued)
23 Ordinary share capital | 2025 Units | 2024 Units | |
Authorized '000 | '000 | ||
14,000,000,000 ordinary shares of 50k each 14,000,000 14,000,000 | |||
N'000 | N'000 | ||
14,000,000,000 ordinary shares of 50k each | 7,000,000 | 7,000,000 | |
Issued and Fully Paid | Units | Units | |
At 1 January Addition during the period | 12,911,030 - | 12,911,030 - | |
At 31 March | 12,911,030 | 12,911,030 | |
N'000 | N'000 | ||
At 1 January | 6,455,515 | 6,455,515 | |
Addition during the period | - | - | |
At 31 March | 6,455,515 | 6,455,515 | |
23b The Irredeemable convertible debt | 12,000,000 | - | |
24 Treasury share | (1,145) | (1,145) | |
Treasury share represents the standard Alliance Assurance Life Limited investment in Standard Alliance Insurance Plc reclassified to treasury share upon merger of the two companies in 2017.
25 Share premium | |||
At 1 January Addition during the period | 7,484,955 - | 7,484,955 - | |
At 31 March | 7,484,955 | 7,484,955 | |
Share premium comprises additional paid-in capital in excess of the par value. | |||
This reserve is not ordinarily available for distribution. | |||
26 Contingency reserves | |||
At 1 January | 1,793,873 | 1,792,360 | |
Charge for the period (Note 27) | 6 | 1,513 | |
At 31 March | 1,793,879 | 1,793,873 | |
In compliance with section 21(1) of Insurance Act | 2003, the contingency | ||
reserve for Non-life insurance business is credited with the greater of 3% of | |||
total premium, or 20% of the net profits. This shall accumulate until it reaches the greater of minimum paid-up capital and 50% percent of the net premium. For life business, the contigency reserve is credited with an amount equal to 1% of gross premium or 10% of net profit (whichever is greater) and accumulated until it reaches the amount of mimimum paid-up capital.
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued)26 Contingency reserves - cont'd
As required by insurance regulations, a contingency reserve is maintaned for both the non-life insurance and life assurance contracts underwritten by the Company. The appropriation to contingency reserve reserve for non-life underwriting contracts is calculated in accordance with sections 21 (2) and 22 (1) of the Insurance Act 2003. The reserve is calculated at the higher of 3% of gross premium and 20% of net profits of the business for the period. The appropriation to contingency reserve for life underwriting contracts is calculated at the higher of 1% of the gross premium and 10% of net profits of the business for the period. The appropriations are charged to the life fund.
27 Accumulated loss | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 | |
At 1 January - As previously stated | (19,724,557) | (19,621,092) | |
Gain/(Loss) for the period | (68,103) | (103,465) | |
Appropriation to contingency reserves (Note 26) | 6 | ||
At 31 March | (19,792,653) | (19,724,557) | |
28 Revaluation Reserves At 1 January | 48,291 | 48,291 | |
Revaluation loss charged to other comprehensive income during the period Revaluation surplus reversed during the period | - - | - - | |
At 31 March | 48,291 | 48,291 | |
Further details are: | |||
Revaluation loss (Note 13) | - | - | |
Less: Tax on loss on revaluation | - | - | |
- | - | ||
29 Fair Value Reserves | N'000 | N'000 | |
At 1 January Decrease during the period | 5,310 - | 5,310 - | |
At 31 March | 5,310 | 5,310 |
-
The fair value reserves shows the effect from the fair value measurement of financial instruments of the category available for sale now classified as financial asset at fair value through other comprehensive income. Any gains or losses are not recognised in the comprehensive income statement until the asset has been sold or impaired.
30 Gross premium | N'000 | N'000 | |
General business Group life Individual life Annuity | 210 - - - | - - - - | |
Movement in unexpired risks (Note 16.1.2) | 210 - | - - | |
210 | - |
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | ||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | ||
2025 | 2024 | |
31 Commission income | N'000 | N'000 |
Bond | - | - |
Engineering | - | - |
Fire | - | - |
General accident | - | - |
Oil and gas | - | - |
Aviation | - | - |
Marine | - | - |
- | - | |
Life - Forfietures and admin charges | - | - |
- | - | |
32 Claims expenses | ||
Claims paid | (237.85) | (76,492) |
Change in outstanding claims (Note 15.2.1) | - | |
Change in claims incurred but not reported (Note 15.3.1) | - | - |
(238) | (76,492) | |
Claims expenses recovered from reinsurers (Note 32(a)) | - | - |
(238) | (76,492) | |
32a) Claims paid recovered from reinsurers | - | - |
Change in claims paid recoverable (Note 7.1) | - | - |
Change in reinsurer's share of IBNR (Note 7.2) | - | - |
- | - | |
33 Underwriting expenses | ||
Acquisition costs (Note 10): | ||
Aviation | - | - |
Bond | - | - |
Engineering | - | - |
Fire | - | - |
General accident | - | - |
Marine | - | - |
Motor | - | - |
Oil and Gas | - | - |
Life | - | - |
- | - | |
Other acquisition costs | - | - |
- | - | |
33a Commission paid analysis Acqusition costs (Note 33) | 42 | - |
Changes in commission payable (Note 18) | - | - |
Per statement of cash flows | 42 | - |
34(a) Investment income | ||
Interest on deposits | 37,561.69 | |
Interest on teasury bills | - | |
Rental income Dividend received | - 37,019 | |
Annuity fund - -
Insurance fund - -
Shareholders fund - -
Investment income per statement of profit or loss - 74,581
Investment fund (Note 34) - -
- 74,581STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued | |||
2025 | 2024 | ||
34(b) Other income | N'000 | N'000 | |
Gain on sale of property, plant and equipment | - | - | |
Other inflows | 11,071 | ||
- | 11,071 | ||
35 Gain/(loss) on investment contract liabilities | |||
Investment income attributable to investment | - | - | |
contracts (Note 34) | |||
Guaranteed interest on investment contracts (Note 16) | - | - | |
- | - | ||
36 | Management expenses | ||
Salaries and Allowances | (11,083) | - | |
Other staff costs | - | - | |
Directors' fee and allowances | - | - | |
Insurance expenses | - | - | |
Rent and rates | - | - | |
Repairs and maintenance | - | - | |
Depreciation | (12,193) | 12,194 | |
Amortisation | - | - | |
Legal and professional fees | (2,000) | - | |
Bank charges | (81) | 22 | |
Printing and stationery | - | ||
Advertising and promotion expenses | - | - | |
Books and periodicals | - | - | |
Telephone and postages | - | - | |
Other administrative expenses | (47,109) | - | |
Supervisory levies | - | - | |
Actuarial cost | (7,256) | - | |
Staff training and development | - | - | |
Audit fee | - | - | |
Corporate and public relation expenses | - | - | |
Travelling, outstation and hotel expenses | 11,690 | - | |
(68,033) | 12,216 | ||
36(a) | Expected credit loss expense | ||
Allowance for credit losses - Cash (Note 5(a)) | - | - | |
Allowance for credit losses - Treasury bills (Note 6.2.3) | - | - | |
Allowance for credit losses - Loans and receivables (Note 6.2.3) | - | - | |
- | - | ||
36(b) | Impairment - Due from insurance companies and brokers | ||
Impairment provision - Due from brokers | - | - | |
Impairment provision - Due from insurance companies | - | - | |
Total impairment (Note 8) | - | - | |
‌36(c) Allowance for impairment - Other receivables and prepayments
Other debtors (Note 9.1) - -
‌36(d) Allowance for impairment on property, plant and equipment
Allowance for impairment loss (Note 13) - -
Less: Tax on impairment loss - -
- -
STANDARD ALLIANCE INSURANCE PLC FINANCIAL STATEMENTS FOR THE QUARTER ENDED 31ST MARCH 2025 | ||
NOTES TO THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS (continued) | ||
37 Finance charges | 2025 N'000 | 2024 N'000 |
Interest expenses on loan | 112,624 | 112,624 |
Interest on Daewoo bond | - | - |
112,624 | 112,624 | |
38 Information Technology Development Levy | ||
At 1 January | 8,406 | 8,406 |
Charge for the period | - | - |
Payment during the period | - | - |
At 31 March | 8,406 | 8,406 |
The Nigerian Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA) Act was signed into law on 24 April, 2007. Section 12(a) of the Act stipulates that specified Companies contribute 1% of their profit before tax to the Nigerian Information Technology Development Agency.
39 | Profit before taxation Profit before taxation is stated after charging: | ||
Depreciation | 12,193 | 12,193 | |
Amortization | - | - | |
Auditors' remuneration Director's remuneration | - - | - - |
39.1 Messrs. Muhtari Dangana & Co (Chartered Accountants) did not provide any other service to the Company during the period.
40 Premium receipt from policy holders | ||
Premium due from policy holder at 1 January | 2,275 | 2,275 |
Gross Premium written in the period | 210 | 5,044 |
2,485 | 7,319 | |
Premium due from policyholders at 31 December | - | (2,275) |
Premium receipts in the period | 2,485 | 5,044 |
41 Basic (loss)/earnings per share | ||
Basic loss per share is calculated by dividing the net loss attributable to ordinary shareholders by the weighted average number of ordinary shares in issue during the period.
Loss for the period (N'000) | (68,103) | ###### |
Number of shares ('000) | 12,911,030 | ###### |
Basic loss per share (Naira) | (0.53) | (14.24) |
