Autodesk, Inc. · NASDAQ:ADSK

Autodesk — Technical Presentation (2016)

33 slides from Autodesk's technical presentation, 2016

  1. Slide 1: VRED Introduction

    VRED Introduction Florian Coenen Senior Technical Support Specialist at Autodesk © 2016 Autodesk Join the conversation #AU2016

  2. Slide 2: Class summary

    Class summary This course will guide through the first steps of doing high-end visualization using Autodesk® VRED™ Professional. © 2016 Autodesk

  3. Slide 3: Key learning objectives

    Key learning objectives At the end of this class, you will be able to:  to import and prepare 3D data  to create materials in VRED  to work with lights and environments  how to work with material and geometry variants  How to use Variant Sets © 2016 Autodesk

  4. Slide 4: UI Overview of Autodesk VRED

    UI Overview of Autodesk® VRED™ © 2016 Autodesk

  5. Slide 5: About the Toolbars

    About the Toolbars © 2016 Autodesk

  6. Slide 6: About the Toolbars

    About the Toolbars © 2016 Autodesk

  7. Slide 7: About the Toolbars

    About the Toolbars © 2016 Autodesk

  8. Slide 8: About the Statusbar

    About the Statusbar © 2016 Autodesk

  9. Slide 9: Navigation

    Navigation Rotate the current camera around a point Hold down the left mouse button (LMB) and drag. To set the point, double-click with the right mouse button in the render view. Pan Hold down the middle mouse button (MMB) and drag. The camera moves in the direction you move the mouse. Zoom Hold dow

  10. Slide 10: Select Objects in Render View

    Select Objects in Render View To: Do this: Select an object Shift+click the object. Deselect an object Shift+right-click the object. Select objects fully enclosed in the Shift+drag with the left mouse button from top left to selection frame bottom right. Select objects fully and partially Shift+drag

  11. Slide 11: Transforming Objects in the Renderview

    Transforming Objects in the Renderview Shift + W Translate/ Move Objects Shift + E Rotate Shift + R Scale Select the handle you want to transform your object with, using the Shift key as well By Entering Values 1.Select objects to transform. 2.Toggle the Transform icon on the quick access bar. The T

  12. Slide 12: Import and Prepare 3D data

    Import and Prepare 3D data File > Add : Spaceship.osb Use the import options like shown below: © 2016 Autodesk

  13. Slide 13: Optimizing the Scene

    Optimizing the Scene In order to get rid of node/ groups transformations, the scene should be optimized for further work, like restructuring the hirachy. • Therefore select the Node that needs to be optimized • go to Scene > Optimize • Select the needed Flush options and press „Optimize“. • Note: Th

  14. Slide 14: Correcting Normals

    Correcting Normals Enable Vertex/ Face Normal Rendering mode under Main Menu >Visualization. Flip Normals by using the following mouse shortcuts to turn (flip) the normals of a selected object inward or outward. ALT-left button Flip whole shell ALT-middle button Flip selected patches only ALT-right

  15. Slide 15: Ambient Occlusion and Shadow Baking

    Ambient Occlusion and Shadow Baking Ambient Occlusion simulates soft global illumination by computing shadows resulting from light coming from all directions 1.Click Scene > Bake Light and Shadows. 2.Adjust settings in the Ambient Occlusion dialog box. 3. Select the object 4.Click on Calculate all (

  16. Slide 16: Mirror the Object

    Mirror the Object:  - Select Node: AliasWorld  - Right click onto Group Node „AliasWorld“ within the Scenegraph  Edit > Duplicate > Duplicate Mirror Y The new created node has a Transform Information of Y= -1 which can be seen within the Tansform Information Window: © 2016 Autodesk

  17. Slide 17: Retesselating NURBS surfaces

    Retesselating NURBS surfaces:  For getting a denser mesh quality do a right click > Edit > Surfaces >Tessellate Surfaces onto the objects node within the Scenegraph and choose the tessellation option as needed. © 2016 Autodesk

  18. Slide 18: Lights

    Lights  Light Attributes like Color and Intensity can be changed and edited within the Light Editor under Scene > Light Editor © 2016 Autodesk

  19. Slide 19: Materials

    Materials Metallic CarPaint  Shift + left click onto an object within the Render View, that you want to convert.   The applied material of the selected object will be selected within the Material Editor   Right click > Convert > To Truelight Material > Metallic Carpaint   The Plastic Material

  20. Slide 20: Materials

    Materials Brushed Metal  Shift + left click onto a Metal Object  Create a new Material called „Brushed Metal“  Under „Bump Texture“ enable „use Structure“. The bump intensity value is controlling the Bump height of the structure. For a slight brush effect, a value of 0.8 to 0.5 is enough  For ge

  21. Slide 21: Materials

    Materials Decals  For applying Decals to objects, simply drag and drop the desired texture file from out of the Explorer or Finder of the Operating System onto the object within the Render View  For applying the texture on top of the existing material, choose the option “Decal”   this will autom

  22. Slide 22: Material Switches

    Material Switches  Go to Create / Convert > Create Material > Switch or go to create > Create Switch from Selection in case the materials are already selected that should be included into the Switch  Drag and drop the different material into the Switch  Assign the Material Switch to the geometry

  23. Slide 23: Material Switches

    Material Switches Or:  Create a new Material  Drag and drop the Material onto the object where the Switch should be created using the right mouse button  Click on „Add as Switch“  New Switch Material is created, where the user can switch between the color alternatives © 2016 Autodesk

  24. Slide 24: Environments

    Environments  Create a new environment within the Material Editor  Create/Convert > Create Environment > Sphere Environment  Browse to a new HDRi image in order to be used within the new environment  The new environment will automatically placed into the Default Environment Switch, where the env

  25. Slide 25: Lights

    Lights • Create new Lights under Scene > create Light • See here the different Light types that can be created © 2016 Autodesk

  26. Slide 26: Geometry Switches

    Geometry Switches  Right click within the Scenegraph > Create > Switch  Drag and drop the different geometry variants into the Switch  Check the variant you want to show © 2016 Autodesk

  27. Slide 27: Camera Viewpoints

    Camera Viewpoints  For storing different camera positions and controlling them afterwards within a Vset as well, open up the Camera Editor under Main Menu > Scene  Navigate within the Scene till the right camera position is found  Right click into the left area of the Camera Editor > Create > Vie

  28. Slide 28: Camera Editor

    Camera Editor In the Lens Attributes area, settings can be set for:  Depth of field,  Focal length  Focus Distance  Fstop  Shutter Speed  Sensor Size Under Image processing settings can be done for:  Tonemapping  Blending  Color Correction  Glow  Glare © 2016 Autodesk

  29. Slide 29: Vsets

    Vsets Use variant sets, or Vsets, to define multiple states for different properties at same time. In many cases, a variant alone is not enough for managing complex models; for example, where many different switch nodes are needed to represent a specific version of the loaded model. Variant Sets pro

  30. Slide 30: Rendersettings

    Rendersettings  Render Settings can be found under Main Menu > Rendering > Render Settings Render Mode Sets the illumination mode to apply for rendering the image to a file. The following render modes are available: • CPU Rasterization: This mode does not compute direct reflection, nor does it comp

  31. Slide 31: Miscellaneous

    Miscellaneous  NURBS Raytracing (VRED pro only)  Linear scaleable Cluster Raytracing  higher Quality or higher Framerates © 2016 Autodesk

  32. Slide 32: Autodesk University 2016

    AUTODESK UNIVERSITY 2016 A\ AUTODESK

  33. Slide 33: Autodesk trademark notice

    Autodesk is a registered trademark of Autodesk, Inc., and/or its subsidiaries and/or affiliates in the USA and/or other countries. All other brand names, product names, or trademarks belong to their respective holders. Autodesk reserves the right to alter product and services offerings, and specific

Autodesk — Technical Presentation (2016) on 6ix